Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    PPPoA to MER?

    This is a discussion on PPPoA to MER? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all. I've searched the site but can't find any existing posts pertaining to this, apologies if I didn't look ...

    1. #1
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      PPPoA to MER?

      Hi all.

      I've searched the site but can't find any existing posts pertaining to this, apologies if I didn't look hard enough.

      I'm on Max/Unlimited or whatever they call it now, with the Sagem router. I've always synced at between 18000 and 19000 kbps but recently I've noticed that my sync speeds have dropped to around 17000 kbps. No biggie I thought, its not like the lost speed will have any noticeable effect on my day to day internet use. My average ping has also gone from 28 to 38ms. Again not a huge issue.

      However this morning whilst fiddling with some port forward settings for a new network device I noticed that the Router Status page says:

      "Network Type: MER"

      I'm pretty sure that previously it had always been on PPPoA, and I definitely haven't made any config changes in the past several months. I've googled it but most of what I find goes straight over my head. Essentially, could someone tell me what MER is, why I seem to suddenly be using it, and whether it could be related to my drop in stats?

      Many thanks in advance
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

    4. #3
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      That does indeed explain whats going on, thanks very much. I'm now left wondering if I should use the reset to try and get PPPoA back. Am I right in thinking doing this would wipe all my settings?
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      Raveologist
      Hi the settings revert to factory settings what you could do is How to get your router statistics then copy and paste to your next post and then reset so you have your stats recorded before the reset

    6. #5
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      Thats a good idea and I will probably do that, however what I meant is that I have a lot of port forwarding, IP reservation etc settings and it will be a pain to have to redo them all, especially given the buggy nature of assigning static IP's on the 2.6 firmware.

      I will monitor my connection for a few days just to be sure that this MER thing is causing my issues, if so i'll do the reset and report back.

      Thanks for your help mate.
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      You may find that simply resetting your router will not put you back on PPPoA, it may also require a change at Skys end. The user was instructed to do this by Sky, who may have made a change at their end.

      Before you do anything you should back up your settings, in fact everyone should have a backup of their settings if they have made configuration changes. You will find the link to do this on the Router Status page. Just save CFG file to your Desktop or a folder where you can find them easily if you need them. Do this and you can reset your router without the worry of loosing a lot of settings, they are very easily put back..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      Been told that its because sky are moving the network great i asked if i would get the same speed i had before they had mucked it up he said "i dont know ring back tomorrow " surely moving servers counts as a "change in service" users should of been emailed to say that rhis was going to happen and they might not get the same speed as they had when they signed up thefore it isnit the same service you should be able to cancel in contract without penalty to the user or bill payer !!

      my speed was around 7mb now i only get 4mb not good sky

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      If you would like to start a new thread & post your stats, there may be something else other than MER causing you speed to slow.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      miamigo's Avatar
      miamigo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      Mine has changed to MER in the last couple of days, although my speed has held up, my connection has started dropping out every 30 seconds or so, but I think thast due to the current thunderstorm here.

      As someone who gets a less than 4meg, I can only say i'm very envious of those who get much higher.

      We use MER readings at work to check the quality of digital channels carrying television pictues, the higher the MER the better the picture quality, I dont however know what this MER is.

    11. #10
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      242
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      MER is "MAC Encapsulated Routing". It uses the MAC address of the router, rather than a username/password combo to allow it onto the Sky network.

      Moving to MER from PPPoA, could be seen by some as one step to preventing non-Sky routers being used on their network!

      (Although MAC address spoofing may still work).

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Pengwern For This Useful Post:

      RJM (10-05-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION