Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

    This is a discussion on "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; To clarify, is sky tv connected to a telephone socket? If so, does it have a filter connected?...

    1. #11
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      To clarify, is sky tv connected to a telephone socket? If so, does it have a filter connected?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Sky tv is plugged in but in another wall and no two-way white splitter connected.
      This must run through a filter. The bit that Sky TV fitters supply is not a filter, it is a simple splitter. Unplug it and try to connect.

      Provided nothing else is connected to the line, you do not even need a filter. You could try taking the modem cable out of the Sky box and plug it into the router and phone socket. Don't connect anything else to the line. This will let you know whether the broadband is working or not.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      brianpants's Avatar
      brianpants is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Tried the last one last night, still didn't work. On the phone to Sky for about an hour. They basically didnt have a clue and said an engineer will ring me in 72 hours!!

      I just don't understand why it's suddenly not working.

      I read somewhere that people have had their internet connection accidentally switched off by Sky just after it's been activated. Could they have done that with me? It's doing my nut in!

    5. #14
      brianpants's Avatar
      brianpants is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Also, I have done power offs, resets, etc. Have changed the micro filter and plugged the micro filter directly into the master socket. None of these have worked.

    6. #15
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Internet light off troubleshooting is relatively straight forward. If your service has been cut off, then tier 1 should spot that in the first minute of the call, so I doubt it's anything to do with that.

      Basically the steps are this:

      Assuming you're not on svbn: Tone test - if you heard a beeping down the landline, then the line's jumpered and all is ok. If it fails, then it's straight to CST to log a fault.

      If you're svbn: SELT test - basically same thing as above.

      Unplug all devices in every telephone socket, remove nte5 faceplate and plug a swapped filter directly into the test socket with just the grey dsl cable sky supplied. If you're still getting no sync, then CST will bounce the line, change line code and cap to baseline. If still no sync, and cat/line test passes then replacement cpe is the next action. If that still doesn't resolve it, then LL5 engineer is next.

    7. #16
      brianpants's Avatar
      brianpants is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Sorry for sounding thick but I'm not that technical - what does CST, cpe, LL5 stand for?

    8. #17
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      CST - Customer Solutions Team - the team you're escalated to if first line support / tier 1 can't get a resolution.
      Cpe - Customer Premises Equipment i.e. router, psu, filters, dsl cable.
      LL5 - Broadband engineer.

      Have you been talking to the customer solutions team at all?

    9. #18
      brianpants's Avatar
      brianpants is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Spoke to the customer solutions team last night - they're the ones who said an engineer would be in contact within 72 hours.

    10. #19
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Ah, I see. They'll have logged the fault to Openreach and will call you back with updates within 72 hours in that case.

    11. #20
      benm1955's Avatar
      benm1955 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "No Internet" light - NETGEAR router

      Hi
      I have exactly the same problem. No internet light on the Netgear router. It flashes amber and then goes off. Have rang sky about 4 times. After a week they decided that it may be faulty router and are sending me a replacement router. Thats another 5 days. Will let you know if that works.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION