Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    Router Intrusion?

    This is a discussion on Router Intrusion? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; No the only console I have is a xbox and it doesn't use those ports. Like I said it makes ...

    1. #11
      Mvrck's Avatar
      Mvrck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      No the only console I have is a xbox and it doesn't use those ports. Like I said it makes no sense having these attacks happen so soon when my router is turned back on with a new ip


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      Remember that the IP you get is from a shared pool of IPs. It's new to you, but isn't new to the Internet.

    4. #13
      andykate's Avatar
      andykate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: crossgates,leeds
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      leeds
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      i get these ALL the time and if you check the ip addresses they always seem to be CHINA or TURKEY....just lately ive had a few SKY ip's in stoke and a couple down south.
      as long as your security is on its ok but its still unnerving
      KEEP ON KEEPING ON
      checking punctuation

    5. #14
      jgf's Avatar
      jgf
      jgf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      I'm a bit concerned over this validity of some of these answers.
      I too have the intrusion alert. Using NsaSoft whoIS on IP addresses and they always originate from China for me.
      If you do a Wiki search on WEP or WPA-PSK you'll find that these aren't exactly the most secure forms of Wireless connection. WEP is worse that WPA-PSK.
      Wi-Fi Protected Access - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      I wish this Sagem modem could be upgraded to run WPA2 with AES.
      My laptop is capable of accomplishing this.
      I beleive those intrusions are able to get through.
      There is software out there that people can use to crack WPA-PSK keys.
      If they run the software long enough they can crack the keys,
      I won't be irresponsonsible to name the software here, but it's out there and I read about it in a book on computer security.
      I hope Sky can provide me with a modem with a more secure wireless option.
      1) Does anyone know what's required to setup WPA-802.1x? Is there some sort of server you need to setup?
      - I guess I could also just run a cable to modem and be more secure that way.
      2) Also wasn't sure from looking at Wiki whether the WPA-PSK key can be made longer - looks like 8 to 63 characters. Wiki says 256 bits which implies 8 characters. Anyone know if longer key can be used? I figure if you make this longer there is less chance of being hacked into.
      3) FInally anyone know what MarkMonitor is all about.
      Using SystemInternals TCPView I'm forever seeing their spyware running via Amazon Web Services. If you close the connections, they just re-instate the connection and bump the port numbers up. I figured something like ZoneAlarm might keep them out, but having alert notifications every time someone tries to access pc would be a pain as I do Web Development and need to run WebServers like Glassfish or JBoss that legitimately need to open sockets/ports....
      Any suggestions?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      They would have to have a very powerful wireless connection to hack your PC from China
      WPA2 will only protect you from local hackers in your vicinity. If you don't use the wireless to connect to your router, the best security is to turn it off. If you are using wireless then you can have a WPA key of up to 63 ASCII characters. An ASCII character, as I am sure you know, is any printable character available on your keyboard. This includes numbers, upper lower case, !"$%^&*()_ and +, etc.

      I am not sure why you should see MarkMonitor running, but it is legitimate and is used by many big companies to ensure that their brand marks are not being abused. It could be you have installed it with some web development software. If you are worried, download and run Malwarebytes.org
      If the ports are set to be opened by a particular application, nothing else should be able to use them. Again if you are worried, run a test at https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      I'm having this problem too and it seems it isn't *ok as long as the ports are closed* my router resets regularly during downloads and I can only think that it is in response to these intrusion attempts as it is all the log shows...

      If I am downloading a large file from a subscription service I get locked out or banned because they think I have shared my password... It is becoming very annoying!

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      If your router is resetting itself, then it is probably faulty, unless you are being subject to DoS attacks, which would be very unusual on a household router. These are usually directed against large web servers.

      If I am downloading a large file from a subscription service I get locked out or banned because they think I have shared my password... It is becoming very annoying!
      I think this may have more to do with having a dynamic IP address than anything else. Logging frequently in with a different address might cause the server to think you are a different person. I don't know how you would overcome this, if it is the case. But I may be completely wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If your router is resetting itself, then it is probably faulty, unless you are being subject to DoS attacks, which would be very unusual on a household router. These are usually directed against large web servers.



      I think this may have more to do with having a dynamic IP address than anything else. Logging frequently in with a different address might cause the server to think you are a different person. I don't know how you would overcome this, if it is the case. But I may be completely wrong.
      So what he would do is change to a static IP?

    10. #19
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      Sky don't do static IP's.

    11. #20
      merrydown's Avatar
      merrydown is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121427
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Intrusion?

      It isn't about me logging in and getting different ips of course, it's about my router keep dropping and reconnecting and being allocated a new ip each time it connects, several times over 5 minutes... I think I have got to the bottom of my problem now though...

      I think my router is having problem with interference/overlap from other wireless devices in my house and in my close. I think it has so many collisions and interference issues that it freaks out and tries to restart the connection (maybe it even resets, I haven't been able to run to the box and watch it when it happens yet). This obviously takes the wired connection down too.

      I know that it refused to work consistently (when wired) last night and at all via wireless, but when I turned my video sender off this morning it started working again...

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION