Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Atmos on Sky Q

    This is a discussion on Atmos on Sky Q within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I am thinking of upgrading from Sky+ to Q. I also have an Onkyo Atmos receiver connected into the current ...

    1. #1
      Wizzard's Avatar
      Wizzard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Atmos on Sky Q

      I am thinking of upgrading from Sky+ to Q. I also have an Onkyo Atmos receiver connected into the current system.

      Question is - how much Atmos content is broadcast on Sky Q please? I am assuming the Atmos (where available) will need to go from Q box to TV via the Atmos receiver?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      First, do you have Atmos speakers (5.1.2 or 7.1.2) - if not, you can not get Atmos sound output even if your AVR supports it. Second, do you have a 4K TV and does your AVR support 4K?

      If yes to both above then Q will give you 4K and Atmos. There is now Atmos on some Sports events broadcast in 4K and on a few UHD(4K) movies that you can watch on Sky Cinema. I just watched one this week.
      Sky Q 2TB v3, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Superfast FTTC 76/18
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Lyngdorf TDAi 2170, Marantz SR7013, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Sony HT-G700, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Russ64 For This Useful Post:

      Wizzard (29-12-17)

    5. #3
      Wizzard's Avatar
      Wizzard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Quote Originally Posted by Russ64 View Post
      First, do you have Atmos speakers (5.1.2 or 7.1.2) - if not, you can not get Atmos sound output even if your AVR supports it. Second, do you have a 4K TV and does your AVR support 4K?
      Yes to all the above (with 5.1.2).

    6. #4
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Great, then you should consider to upgrade to Q. Even watching normal TV, I only use Sky Q for HD and SD, with it set to output 2160p @ 10 bit it does an amazing job of up-scaling the picture.
      However, the other "main" reason for getting Q is that it is excellent for watching TV (same or different channels) and recordings on other TV's in the house using Mini boxes (although these are only in HD 1080p).

      But to answer your question, there is still limited content in UHD & Atmos but at least it is there. I also have an Apple TV 4K to get iTunes and Amazon Prime content that has much more in UHD and Atmos/DTS:X.

      Also, I am running my Sky Q into my AVR and then to TV.
      Sky Q 2TB v3, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Superfast FTTC 76/18
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Lyngdorf TDAi 2170, Marantz SR7013, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Sony HT-G700, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    7. #5
      Wizzard's Avatar
      Wizzard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Many thanks for this. My Sony TV is about 2 years old - not 4K but I hope to enjoy the Atmos sound at least through my Onkyo Receiver!

    8. #6
      rogerfp's Avatar
      rogerfp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bexleyheath
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Quote Originally Posted by Wizzard View Post
      Many thanks for this. My Sony TV is about 2 years old - not 4K but I hope to enjoy the Atmos sound at least through my Onkyo Receiver!
      Atmos sound is only available on UHD 4K broadcasts

    9. #7
      Wizzard's Avatar
      Wizzard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Quote Originally Posted by rogerfp View Post
      Atmos sound is only available on UHD 4K broadcasts
      Agreed. Since it will "pass through" my Atmos receiver, I should get Atmos where ever available. Also, as Russ64 said, any up-scaling will be nice to have - until I get a new 4K TV!!

    10. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Without a UHD TV 4K upscaling is irrelevant.

    11. #9
      Wizzard's Avatar
      Wizzard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Atmos on Sky Q

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Without a UHD TV 4K upscaling is irrelevant.
      Ah! Thanks for this.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION