Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

    This is a discussion on Unable to live pause or record on one channel. within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have recently found on my sky+ HD box that I can no longer live pause or record on channel ...

    1. #1
      Bulshi's Avatar
      Bulshi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

      I have recently found on my sky+ HD box that I can no longer live pause or record on channel 124 FOX HD. This was actually pointed out to me by my son who was watching the channel and needed to leave the room for a while so used the pause button to which he got a message stating that this service has been restricted by the broadcaster and to contact them ! We then tried to record but again nothing happened. We then tried on channel 188 FOX and that worked as expected. Also all other HD channels work fine too all pause and all record it's just FOX HD 124. Spoke to two different sky reps on different days who said they would reset viewing services on that channel and I would need to wait 4 hrs for it to work. The second rep then stated that the broadcaster has restricted recording on channel 124 and you can only watch it 'live' so to speak. Neither of the resets worked although we did get different messages.
      Checked within family circle and others can pause and record FOX HD !

      Anyone come across this before !?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

      This is unusual. I have just double checked y own STB and Fox HD (124) is behaving normally.

      Could I ask you t check the 'Deleted' folder in the Planner and empty it?

      Press <TV Guide> <Green> <Left> <Down>

      Now press <Yellow> to permanently remove each individual item in the folder.

      Once completed check the Fox HD channel and see if it works.

      You may also wish to perform a planner rebuild afterwards. To down this Press <Services> 0 0 1 <Select> 7 <Down>

      This should have selected "Sky+ Rebuild" and not 'System Reset'. A Sky+ Rebuild is non-destructive and will take between 10-20 minutes to complete. Follow the on-screen prompts to do this.

      Important: A System Reset will wipe the contents of your drive so please don't do this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Bulshi's Avatar
      Bulshi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

      Thanks for replying ,

      long story short - tried both your suggestions and more before speaking to sky reps.

      This and for other reasons I have now cancelled sky tv and am moving on to the world of freeview after what for some would be a lifetime with sky.

      Cheers Scubbie !

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

      Ok. I'm sure that there would have been something to resolve this.

      Hopefully Retentions will give you a friendly call and try to win you back.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unable to live pause or record on one channel.

      I am not sure what is going on with your box or any reason for what you have been told by the Sky Reps. I have no problems with recording channel 124, I record quite a lot from it including Walking Dead, which your son was probably watching. I don't think any of the Studios object to 'time shifting' which is all you are doing by recording so I think you have been fed bull.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION