Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By jimscreechy

    Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

    This is a discussion on Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have a Sky DRX890 box. I know it is possible to copy the files to another Disk by way ...

    1. #1
      jimscreechy's Avatar
      jimscreechy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      I have a Sky DRX890 box.

      I know it is possible to copy the files to another Disk by way of PC software, for replacing the drive with one of a bigger capacity etc, but is it possible to copy files to a HD on my PC, then decode them into some PC compatible format like MPG, AVI or similar so they can be watched on my pc?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,519
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      It is possible to copy free to view recordings from the hard drive of a Sky+ HD box to a PC using a registered copy of ExPvr but encrypted recordings are stored in that form so there is no way of playing them from a PC.

    4. #3
      jimscreechy's Avatar
      jimscreechy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      Well I'm afraid that simply just won't do! Now I shall retire to my secret lair where I will devise a universal decoding device which I will make available to all! Take that establishment!
      RADZ1973 likes this.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      The encrypted recordings are tied to your viewing card, making the task a little harder than normal.

      Of course you could be naughty and search some of those file sharing sites that the government wants the ISPs to block.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      Quote Originally Posted by jimscreechy View Post
      Well I'm afraid that simply just won't do! Now I shall retire to my secret lair where I will devise a universal decoding device which I will make available to all! Take that establishment!
      You could of course use a capture card on your PC and get the recordings straight from your box. If you want it in HD you will need a card with this capability. This one comes highly recommended, but it is a bit expensive for most-
      ViewCast: Osprey 820e HD dual input card with Digital Simulstream

      If you are not worried about HD an ordinary analogue or hybrid card would do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      But the HD output on a Sky Digibox is HDMI - unless you have a Thomson box.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      The thing is Martin that the Thomson STBs are all being pulled and no one will be able to use the Component connections directly from a Sky+ HD STB.

      However, there are leads that will allow you to connect the HDMI socket to a set of component sockets on your TV or Projector.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Watching SKY HD recordings on a PC

      Quote Originally Posted by MartinP View Post
      But the HD output on a Sky Digibox is HDMI - unless you have a Thomson box.
      The card linked includes an HDMI to DVI converter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION