Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box

    This is a discussion on Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello to everyone as I am a newbie. My SKY+HD box has decided to stop working and after talking to ...

    1. #1
      apachi's Avatar
      apachi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01766
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box

      Hello to everyone as I am a newbie. My SKY+HD box has decided to stop working and after talking to Sky it was apparent that it was cheaper to buy a new 2TB box. However as I do not have a PVR to create
      DVD's all the programs I want are on the Hard Drive in the box. Is there any way I can copy or remove the programs from the old box to a PC or something? Can anyone advise please?
      Apachi


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box

      You can move the recordings to the new disk, using MRMT32's application.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...rs-wanted.html

      Note that this involves removing the disk from both boxes, thus invalidating your warranty. It is possible to copy non encrypted programs, BBC etc to a PC for viewing, it is not possible to view Sky programs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      apachi (24-03-13)

    5. #3
      apachi's Avatar
      apachi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01766
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box

      I can' t thank you enough for the very quick reply and the information. The programs I wanted were from sky and as you said that you can only do BBC. The Biggest problem is lack of knowledge about removing stuff and also the cost. I am 67 and not very computer literate. Building a computer is one thing but I doubt that I could carry out the job. I was hoping that it may be a couple of cables and I still have 11 months on warranty. It looks that many people have benifitted from your information. Thank you again.
      apachi

    6. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Moving Recorded Planer programs from a dissconnected SKY+HD box

      Sky often repeats programmes so you may find that you can re-record some of your old programmes the next time they are scheduled. If you have your new Sky+ HD box connected to your broadband router you can search the On Demand content as some of the programmes recorded on your old box may also be available there.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION