Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29
    Like Tree7Likes

    Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

    This is a discussion on Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Nice one :-) going from 500gb to 2tb is awesome!!! I've just taken my old Thomson 300gig hd out my ...

    1. #11
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Nice one :-) going from 500gb to 2tb is awesome!!!

      I've just taken my old Thomson 300gig hd out my old box and going to stick it in my pc as a backup drive.
      NewsreadeR likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Thank you Ged for this. I struggle with the cover and didn't want to break it.
      It certainly wasn't the easiest to take apart. But if I had to do it again, it would be a lot easier now I guess.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Where are the knifes and forks
      pmsl - They weren't needed on this occasion.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      Nice one :-) going from 500gb to 2tb is awesome!!!

      I've just taken my old Thomson 300gig hd out my old box and going to stick it in my pc as a backup drive.
      You will be able to view any non encrypted programs you have on it, should you wish.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      jeallen01's Avatar
      jeallen01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208581
      Broadband ISP: Virgin 20MBs (occasionally, when no-one else is logged in!) Cable
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      W.London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      "The HDD inside the 2TB box is an Hitachi HCS5C2020ALA632"
      What is interesting, in the context of my own (not pleasant!) experiences with 2TB disks in the DRX-890, is that this is still a 5400rpm disk like the the WD 2TB I used in the unit that I upgraded and, I assume, the 2TB disk in the upgraded DRX-890 that I then bought earlier this year, because, in both cases, they suffer from severe stuttering on recorded/paused programmes if there are 2 programmes being recorded/paused at the same time. :-(

      Therefore I wonder what the performance specs differences are between the WD and the Hitachi disks - given that all the DRX-890/895 units now appear to share the same firmware version (as per Scubbies's Sticky)?

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      There is a difference between the DRX890 and DRX895. This means that the DRX895 can format a drive larger than 1TB, whilst the DRX890 will only format a drive to 1TB.

      I don't know where this difference is buried, but it is there.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #17
      jeallen01's Avatar
      jeallen01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208581
      Broadband ISP: Virgin 20MBs (occasionally, when no-one else is logged in!) Cable
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      W.London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There is a difference between the DRX890 and DRX895. This means that the DRX895 can format a drive larger than 1TB, whilst the DRX890 will only format a drive to 1TB.

      I don't know where this difference is buried, but it is there.
      Possibly hard-coded into the ROM BIOS?S

      OTOH the other compatibility issues could be down to the fact that both my own disks (WD20EARS in the DRX890 I modded myself, and unknown in the one I later bought) and the Segate Pipeline 2TB disks are both SATA2/3GBS, whilst the Hitachi is SATA3/6GBS (see http://www.hdsentinel.com/storageinf...CS5C2020ALA632) - so the latter is theoretically capable of receiving/sending data at twice the rate of the other two. That might also go some way to explaining why my own (both DRX890s) get into problems when a lot of data has been recorded and then deleted - they simply can't shift data quickly enough to reliably dual record and then pause one of the programmes being recorded without then stuttering on replay.

      So, maybe the DRX895 and the latest DRX890 2TB boxes have a SATA3 disk interface, whereas the earlier ones had SATA2?
      Last edited by jeallen01; 16-12-12 at 06:55 PM.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    9. #18
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      I've just got a 2TB box, and the prospect of not having to take the case apart anytime in the near future is sheer bliss !

      This is a lively little box, with a really quiet drive - such a treat after my old Pace box
      NewsreadeR and Scubbie like this.

    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Strange that you should say how quiet yours is.

      Mine is also nice and quiet, but a few people have complained about the noise of the Sky forums.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #20
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Inside the 2TB Sky+ HD Box

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      ...a few people have complained about the noise of the Sky forums.
      Perhaps we had better whisper

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION