Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Blocky HD Playback

    This is a discussion on Blocky HD Playback within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; This problem has occurred a couple of times now, since the last software update on my Sky+ HD box. The ...

    1. #1
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Blocky HD Playback

      This problem has occurred a couple of times now, since the last software update on my Sky+ HD box.

      The first time, I tried to watch something that had been recorded early one morning on Universal HD I believe it was (Fairly Legal) - trying to play it back it simply showed as green and pink blocks, although the sound was there. When I fast forwarded or rewound, you could see the picture (obviously at a higher speed), with pink and green vertical stripes. At the time I assumed it was a transmission problem, deleted it, set the box to record a repeat of the same programme and reset the box assuming it had been a glitch caused by the most recent software update.

      Today, I was in the middle of watching another programme (House) which had been recorded on HD. I was halfway through, went to fast-forward through some adverts and the blocks appeared again, exactly as before. I decided to instead watch another programme recorded in HD - exactly the same problem.

      I then reset the box (switched it off, left it a few minutes, switched it back on again), and the playback was fine again.

      The question is .... is this a problem with my box, ie, a hardware fault, or is it to do with these software updates we've been having?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      You may wish to do a 'Planner Rebuild' as your STB has changed it's file system. This was a common problem when Darwin was first introduced.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      Is that the second set of instructions, that wipes my hard drive?

      This was a common problem when Darwin was first introduced.
      Pity the guy on the SkyHD twitter feed had never heard of it, if it was so common

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      Sorry, planner rebuild is required, not the system reset.

      Here are the correct destructions:

      On your remote control press <Services> <Right> <Down> 0 1 <Select>

      Now press <Right> until you find the option 'Planner Rebuild'

      Press <Down> and follow th on-screen instructions to initiate the process.

      Please be aware that it will take anything from 5 to 30 minutes and you cannot record anything during the process.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Stumpy (12-05-11)

    7. #5
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      Destructions! hehe.

      So I'm assuming if I follow these steps, I won't lose anything off my hard drive?

      If thats the case, I'll give it a go tomorrow, thank you

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy View Post
      Destructions! hehe.

      So I'm assuming if I follow these steps, I won't lose anything off my hard drive?

      If thats the case, I'll give it a go tomorrow, thank you
      No. A Planner rebuild will NOT wipe everything. Think of it like a deframentation program on your PC.

      As for doing this after every software update, it is more because of the change to Darwin that the problem I believe has occurred. You should be fine now.

      If you are someone who frequently records & deletes content from your Sky STB, then you should consider doing this periodically anyway. I done this to mine the other week and it improved the performance of the STB significantly. Considering I only fitted the drive last February, I guess it was needed already.


      System Reset will wipe the hard drive, not rebuild.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #7
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Ultrafast 1
      Router: Sky Hub SR203
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      580
      Thanks
      62
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Blocky HD Playback

      Okay I carried out the rebuild earlier .. time will tell ;-)

      Thanks for the help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION