Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Maximum recording time?

    This is a discussion on Maximum recording time? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Is there a maximum recording time on the Sky+ HD boxes? I record a lot of American Football and ...

    1. #1
      MightyOak79's Avatar
      MightyOak79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Maximum recording time?

      Hi,

      Is there a maximum recording time on the Sky+ HD boxes? I record a lot of American Football and I get the "End of Program" message before the game has finished. The box seems to stop recording after 183 mins. Is there a way around this?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      Quote Originally Posted by MightyOak79 View Post
      Hi,

      Is there a maximum recording time on the Sky+ HD boxes? I record a lot of American Football and I get the "End of Program" message before the game has finished. The box seems to stop recording after 183 mins. Is there a way around this?

      Thanks.
      It's probably the broadcaster failing to update the EPG to cover overruns. The only real way round it is to set the recording manually for 4 hours or so.

      The maximum record time for a single EPG entry is something like 6 hours.

    4. #3
      Ian Thompson's Avatar
      Ian Thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      It's probably the broadcaster failing to update the EPG to cover overruns. The only real way round it is to set the recording manually for 4 hours or so.

      The maximum record time for a single EPG entry is something like 6 hours.
      Out of interest i tried entering a manual recording on the planner to see how long a recording you could get in total that is if you hav'nt got any recordings in the planner at all and in total i found i was able to do one full manual recording from one channel of 23 hours, 59 minutes, but funnily enough you couldn't do 24 hours, for example 12 midnight-12midnight. Of course i deleted it after a few minutes.
      Ian.

    5. #4
      MightyOak79's Avatar
      MightyOak79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      Thanks for the reply.

      I guess manual recording is the way forward then. Bit annnoying as it means that I cant set the box to record remotely, but never mind.

      Cheers!

    6. #5
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      You could try complaining to the broadcaster to see if they can do anything about keeping the EPG in line with the broadcast.

    7. #6
      davemurgatroyd's Avatar
      davemurgatroyd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01865
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD multiroom
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      Quote Originally Posted by MightyOak79 View Post
      Thanks for the reply.

      I guess manual recording is the way forward then. Bit annnoying as it means that I cant set the box to record remotely, but never mind.

      Cheers!
      Why not record the next programme as well when recording remotely?

    8. #7
      Whiskeymac's Avatar
      Whiskeymac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01258
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Maximum recording time?

      I know this is an old thread but i experienced the same twice yesterday whilst recording the Olympics. On neither occasion was the stoppage anywhere near the end of the broadcast, nor was the disk anywhere near full. The first time was halfway through Andy Murray's final singles set (the mixed doubles was next in the same broadcast), the second time was as Bolt was getting on his marks!!

      I can't find any max recording time setting but there is something amiss during long recordings.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION