Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

    This is a discussion on Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Glad you got it sorted out....

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Glad you got it sorted out.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Warfield's Avatar
      Warfield is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Quote Originally Posted by Alavana View Post
      Someone first raised this issue back in 2006, Sky, big, big investors as they are, have apparently not addressed this issue. Yet what I find so amazing is, the prospect of 3D via HDMI when they can`t even get the basics sorted....Four years on and NOTHING learnt!
      People slag Sky off all the time but how many suppliers have a complex product that just works straight out of the box in millions of ordinary homes as well as Sky HD? Sure you can do all this stuff on a PC but how easy is it to setup a PC with a twin satellite receiver card, a video card, surround sound and a hard disk for PVR functions all with an EPG that is even usable? Sky has a product which is simple enough the masses and yet provides the advanced features desirable to the techies. You have decided to have a surround sound system so straight away your configuration is non standard. It's not Sky's fault that you don't understand your Sony AV.

    4. #13
      Alavana's Avatar
      Alavana is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: MAX
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Thanks for slagging me off, Warfield.

      I guess it is my fault that Sky do not advertise they do not produce Dolby Digital via HDMI?

      No worries my friend, the problem is sorted now and I posted the solution here to help others who might have the same problem. (The solution being, to read and understand the manuals, and, to be advised that even though you can`t find in any literature that Sky do not support Dolby Digital via HDMI - including the manual that comes with Sky HD+ - it is a fact of life.)

      Thanks for your help, by the way.

    5. #14
      Warfield's Avatar
      Warfield is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01344
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Quote Originally Posted by Alavana View Post
      ...you can`t find in any literature that Sky do not support Dolby Digital via HDMI - including the manual that comes with Sky HD+ - it is a fact of life.)
      On page 72 of the manual for my DRX895 Sky+HD box it states

      Connecting other devices

      To connect your box to an audio system, you can use:
      Either a coaxial digital-audio cable
      OR an audio (L/R) cable
      OR an optical digital audio cable...

      The manual even has diagrams for Basic setup 1 and Basic setup 2 but connecting an AV is not part of the basic setup and the diagram clearly shows that a coaxial digital audio cable or optical digital audio cable is required.

      On page 73 of the manual for my DRX895 Sky+HD box it states

      Switching on Dolby Digital audio

      With the digital-audio outputs you can connect your Sky+HD box to a compatible home cinema system and listen to programmes broadcast in Dolby Digital audio. For this you need an optical or coaxial cable (not supplied) and you need to change the default settings on your Sky+HD box:...

      Is there anything similar in your manual for the DRX890 box, after all they are very similar spec boxes?

    6. #15
      Alavana's Avatar
      Alavana is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: MAX
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      You are getting very confused my dear Warfield.

      I specifically quote on the subject of "SKY" and you quote on the subject of "SONY."

      The information is on page 100 of the Sony STR-DN 1000 manual
      Enjoying the sound/images from other inputs

      Another contact has helped me resolve this issue, just as I have previously stated.

      Here is part of the information. I hope you don`t find this confusing, too?

      "Normally in such AV amps you can configure it so that a logical source on the input selector can combine different physical inputs.

      e.g. on my Denon.
      For my 'Sky' input (I can name them), it is configured as HDMI input for video, optical input for audio.

      The amp then plays the audio via the speakers, whilst the video goes out the HDMI output to the TV (which has its speakers turned off). The amp detects as usual whether the audio in is DD or whatever."


      Whatever...... problem resolved and all previous facts remain unchanged.

      Enjoy!

    7. #16
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      It doesn't matter if the manual mentions it or not - a system that does not support Dolby Digital via HDMI can hardly be called "SuperTelly" IMHO.

    8. #17
      Alavana's Avatar
      Alavana is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: MAX
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      The vast majority of us know what the definition of HDMI stands for.

      The "multi" part of the acronym applies only to the image in this instance, as in all fairness, it is in High Definition carried via the HDMI cable, as for the sound, it`s two channel only, hardly High Definition.

      So maybe we have here a case of High Definition Single-Media Interface.
      Since 2004, Sky does not support Dolby Digital 5.1 via HDMI.

    9. #18
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Quote Originally Posted by Alavana View Post
      The vast majority of us know what the definition of HDMI stands for.

      The "multi" part of the acronym applies only to the image in this instance, as in all fairness, it is in High Definition carried via the HDMI cable, as for the sound, it`s two channel only, hardly High Definition.

      So maybe we have here a case of High Definition Single-Media Interface.
      If you read the full HDMI spec there is the "basic specification" which is only requires 2 channel PCM audio. This is the minimum audio specification required for HDMI licensing compliance, any multichannel formats are entirely optional and don't have to be implemented.

    10. #19
      Alavana's Avatar
      Alavana is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: MAX
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD+ and HDMI Dolby Digital

      Since 2004, Sky does not support Dolby Digital 5.1 via HDMI.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION