Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

    This is a discussion on Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ?? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My first post, so a big hello to you Guys & Gals. I'm due to have my current Sky+160 upgraded ...

    1. #1
      g4fne's Avatar
      g4fne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      My first post, so a big hello to you Guys & Gals.

      I'm due to have my current Sky+160 upgraded to Sky HD on Thursday. I have quite a bit on the planner that i would like to save if easy. Can this be done without having to access the hard drive ??

      Secondly .... any tips or advice worth knowing for when the guy comes to fit please


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,226
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      You would have to use Copy+ really and remove the HDD unless you recorded it all in real time to the PC and then burn to DVD or similar.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      Quote Originally Posted by g4fne View Post
      My first post, so a big hello to you Guys & Gals.

      I'm due to have my current Sky+160 upgraded to Sky HD on Thursday. I have quite a bit on the planner that i would like to save if easy. Can this be done without having to access the hard drive ??

      Secondly .... any tips or advice worth knowing for when the guy comes to fit please
      You could use a DVD recorder to copy the programs from the sky planner straight to a dvd disc, like you could with a VCR years ago.

    5. #4
      g4fne's Avatar
      g4fne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      Ok thanks for your responses.


      Also whats the deal with the phone line. To get one connected to the new HD Box is going to be challenging at best. I wont be having multiroom so will Sky worry about if its not being connected ??

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      Not normally, you could always use a long crappy extension lead during the install and tell them you will fit it yourself properly when they have left to save them all the time and hassle, then when they leave, wind it up until you need it again.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,226
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      I am pretty sure it needs to be connected to the phone line for 12 months if it is the only box or a multiroom one, if it is a subsidised price.

      If you don't have it connected to the phone line, then Sky may write to you, so plug it in then if they do.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      g4fne's Avatar
      g4fne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      I tried this before but Sky tried charging me full price for the box. I did have multiroom at this time though ... so assume that may be the difference ?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,226
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky HD fitting on Thursday - Can i transfer my recordings ??

      Your Sky box(es) must be connected to a fixed telephone line for 12 months.
      Sky.com - Sky Products>Sky TV>Terms and Conditions

      I would use a temp telephone extension when they install just in case. I know Glenn has had the letter a couple of times for not having his box plugged in, and he just plugged it in so it could perform the callback / ringing home then disconnected it again. Until the next letter arrived.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION