Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

    This is a discussion on Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, i am new to dolby surround and such like but struggling a little. I have sky HD connected to ...

    1. #1
      mattyc's Avatar
      mattyc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      Hi, i am new to dolby surround and such like but struggling a little. I have sky HD connected to a panasonic home cinema system by Optical cable and also HDMI. When ever i watch a program on sky that has abreviation "DD" i get true dolby digital sound through all speakers, which is great. However, when i watch a program that has "DS", this is dolby surround and by reading all the sky info, this should still be transmitting surround sound but not the same quality as dolby digital. My Panasonic system says when i leave it in standard mode it plays the sounds as they are received, ie when watching a dolby digital program it is output through all 6 speakers. When i change to a dolby surround transmission, the sound only comes out of 2 front speakers and sub woofer but there is no centre sound or rear surround which i thought there should be? I can manually change the home cinema to multi channel mode but i dont think i should have to this? I am wondering if anyone else has this issue, have i misunderstood what "DS" stands for, am i somehow setup wrong or am i just stupid??!!

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      You should only be connected via Optical from the Sky box to your HomeTheatre. DD is Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound, and DS is only twin track stereo. Both are delivered to your Home Theatre via optical, and the HT will do the job from there. I use D-IN for both on my HT, and you should check with the HT manual for sound enhancements with 2-channel stereo.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      If think Dolby Surround DS is the old "Dolby Prologic" if you amp has a "Dolby Prologic" setting then if you turn it on you should get a single "Sudo" rear channel pumped through the rear speakers. My Sony amp doe's anyway Prologic doe's decode a mono rear channel for both speakers and a center channel, if it was encoded onto the orignal stereo channels in the first place.

    5. #4
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      Yes, there is PLII on my HT. Must also be on the OP's.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      You should only be connected via Optical from the Sky box to your HomeTheatre. DD is Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound, and DS is only twin track stereo. Both are delivered to your Home Theatre via optical, and the HT will do the job from there. I use D-IN for both on my HT, and you should check with the HT manual for sound enhancements with 2-channel stereo.
      DD does not mean its 5.1
      It can also be 2.0 or 2.1

      Only certain channels carry DD (all HD and some premium SD channels). The other channels which carry the PCM stereo can carry Prologic information invisibly mixed into the stereo sound which gives you the Dolby Surround.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #6
      wonnyjilkinson's Avatar
      wonnyjilkinson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North of Watford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      172
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      I must admit, where "DD" is shown in the programme description, the sound broadcast is Dolby Digital 5.1 according to my amplifier. Where it shows as "DS", the amplifier displays it as Dolby 2.0.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      Quote Originally Posted by wonnyjilkinson View Post
      I must admit, where "DD" is shown in the programme description, the sound broadcast is Dolby Digital 5.1 according to my amplifier. Where it shows as "DS", the amplifier displays it as Dolby 2.0.
      Most programs will be 5.1 but there are some in 2.0 etc, I think adverts are also 2.0
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      wonnyjilkinson's Avatar
      wonnyjilkinson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North of Watford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      172
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      I agree with the adverts, when watching a "DD" broadcast the amp will generally revert to Dolby 2.0 when the ads come on. I'm usually making a brew though then!

    10. #9
      mattyc's Avatar
      mattyc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dolby Surround NOT Dolby Digital

      Ok, thanks for help guys. Am running home cinema now on dolby prologic II mode when not watching 5.1 programs and all seems fine although its much quiter than running in standard mode.

      Cheers.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION