Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    HDMI to Component Conversion?

    This is a discussion on HDMI to Component Conversion? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, The suggestion of using a right angled connectors is a good one, and I might do that on the ...

    1. #11
      JimCleary's Avatar
      JimCleary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Hi,
      The suggestion of using a right angled connectors is a good one, and I might do that on the output from the Sky box. But your advice did amuse me a bit - my problem is that my tv doesn't have an HDMI input socket.
      :-)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      SilverFox2's Avatar
      SilverFox2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Quote Originally Posted by JimCleary View Post
      Hi,
      The suggestion of using a right angled connectors is a good one, and I might do that on the output from the Sky box. But your advice did amuse me a bit - my problem is that my tv doesn't have an HDMI input socket.
      :-)
      Sorry, my mistake (senior moment I fear).

      I know my dog and the grandkids are my main reason for the caution I express.

    4. #13
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Quote Originally Posted by JimCleary View Post
      Hi,
      The suggestion of using a right angled connectors is a good one, and I might do that on the output from the Sky box. But your advice did amuse me a bit - my problem is that my tv doesn't have an HDMI input socket.
      :-)
      The "problem" isn't anything that an extension cable wouldn't fix. I have to say that the Fury doesn't look too well constructed - I didn't like the sight of a D-sub connector only held to the PCB by the pins in the socket (I assume the case may give some extra support, but it's not clear). The HD Fury2 looks a better proposition. The Vision FC4 is built like a tank, but it is considerably more expensive.

    5. #14
      JimCleary's Avatar
      JimCleary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Hi - I'm not sure what "problem" could be fixed by an extension cable?
      I've ordered the HDFury2 - it should arrive on Monday.

    6. #15
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Quote Originally Posted by JimCleary View Post
      Hi - I'm not sure what "problem" could be fixed by an extension cable?
      I've ordered the HDFury2 - it should arrive on Monday.

      The problem of the poor mounting of the VGA connector on the HD Fury's PCB, which would be stressed if connected directly to a VGA connector on a TV.

    7. #16
      JimCleary's Avatar
      JimCleary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Hi,
      My eagerly awaited HDFury2 arrived this morning - it's installed & working. Pictures look grand - checked some HD channels & they show as 1080/50i; non-HD as 576p. Slightly awkward to attach the output cable - very little room to tighted the knurled kobs provided.
      It does need the external power supply (provided); my Amstrad clearly doesn't give enough power down the HMDI cable for it.
      Had a major scare when I checked the tv after leaving it on for 20/25 minutes - just had a blue screen! Powered the device down & back up again and now it has been working fine for 90-odd minutes.
      It's possible that I didn't give the device enough time to warm up before the first use but I have emailed CurtPalme.com to get their comments.
      Jim.

    8. #17
      JimCleary's Avatar
      JimCleary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      OK I think my two problems were related. Jogging the device caused the blue screen again - clearly I hadn't tightened the connections fully. So I got out my small pliers; the connectors are tight & shaking the HDFury2 doesn't cause any problems now.
      Many thanks to my friend Ziggy for remotely diagnosing the problem.

    9. #18
      JimCleary's Avatar
      JimCleary is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208789
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HDMI to Component Conversion?

      Hi just to confirm that the HDFury2 is working fine; no futher problems after I tightened-up the connections. Thanks again to SilverFox2 for the recommendation. Here's the website again in case anyone else needs one: CurtPalme.com Special Edition HDFury2: HDMI to Component/RGB Converter
      Jim.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION