Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Is this another power supply fault?

    This is a discussion on Is this another power supply fault? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; The new EPG seems to be causing a lot of problems. If a reboot fixes it for a while, it's ...

    1. #11
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      The new EPG seems to be causing a lot of problems. If a reboot fixes it for a while, it's probably not a PSU fault (although it might be!) As a minimum you should check the PSU capacitors for any slight bulging of the "Mercedes badge" flat tops (indicates complete capacitor failure) and see if it works OK when you power it up again.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Quote Originally Posted by soulton View Post
      Hi All,
      Could the new EPG demand more power and therefore place more strain and demand on the psu?
      That's my theory too

    4. #13
      soulton's Avatar
      soulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Sky HD
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Hi All,
      Had psu upgraded and so far so good.
      Will update again soon.

      Regards Si.

    5. #14
      soulton's Avatar
      soulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Sky HD
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Unhappy to report that it has happened twice tonight. Very confused and annoyed as all has been good for a while. Any ideas anyone?

    6. #15
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Quote Originally Posted by soulton View Post
      Unhappy to report that it has happened twice tonight. Very confused and annoyed as all has been good for a while. Any ideas anyone?
      Try a Sky+ Rebuild. Carefully press Services, 0, 0, 1, Select, 7, Select, & Select again. The process takes around 10 seconds only, and will leave the box in standby. Wait a couple of minutes after it's completed and fire up the box again. If the process hangs, switch off at the mains, reboot and try again.

      Also note there will be no screen response as you press the second '0' & '1'. . Your recordings are not deleted
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    7. #16
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      I'd try changing the HDMI cable, if I were you.

    8. #17
      ozsat's Avatar
      ozsat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: VirginMedia 120mb
      Router: VM Superhub 2
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Are you able to try a different tv with HDMI? I know not many people will have multiple HD tvs.

      Isn't the error code saying the the connect tv is not HDCP compliant? If so, the tv could be faulty.

    9. #18
      soulton's Avatar
      soulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Sky HD
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      I hear what you are saying, but the screen also has a BluRay player connected and a HDD/DVDR both via HDMI. I have tried swapping inputs but the same happens.

      I have never done a Sky rebuild - are there any down sides to it ?

      Thanks for your thoughts and ideas.
      Regards
      Si.

    10. #19
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      I think you should follow the advice of SG1 in this thread first.

    11. #20
      soulton's Avatar
      soulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Sky HD
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this another power supply fault?

      Thanks Old Nick,
      I will give it a go.
      Cheers.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION