Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

    This is a discussion on Slow EPG (something I have to live with?) within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Well, my Thompson HD box has now had the PSU caps replaced (didn't appear to be much wrong with the ...

    1. #1
      Grumpyduck's Avatar
      Grumpyduck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Worthing
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      Well, my Thompson HD box has now had the PSU caps replaced (didn't appear to be much wrong with the old ones tho').

      I have upgraded the HDD to a 1TB Western Digital WD10EVDS.

      The EPG is slow, so I can only deduce that its an ongoing inherent problem with the thing itself......

      ....unless of course you know different?
      Sky Subscriber since 1990
      Amstrad 1TB Box
      Sky Fibre Unlimited



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      The new EPG lags for me as well, button pushes register then the box has to really think about changing channels or going onto the planner etc.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      I'm also on the new EPG. Box is a Thomson 4E3007. No mods, just the bog standard issued box. EPG is fine. Everything responds in under a second. Same as the old EPG. I do regular Planner Rebuilds, have got the thing on an open shelf on its own, and it's raised 1" off the shelf on black doorstops. Which box version does everybody have? May have something to do with it.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      DonnySky's Avatar
      DonnySky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balby
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      I'm also on the new EPG. Box is a Thomson 4E3007. No mods, just the bog standard issued box. EPG is fine. Everything responds in under a second. Same as the old EPG. I do regular Planner Rebuilds, have got the thing on an open shelf on its own, and it's raised 1" off the shelf on black doorstops. Which box version does everybody have? May have something to do with it.
      I'm relatively new to Sky. I've got an Amstrad HD box, so it's got the old style EPG still on it. In a few posts now I've seen people say that they do regular "Planner Rebuilds". What is this, why do you need to do it and how ?

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      There are two things which seem to affect the EPG, and which seem to affect the new EPG more than the old one.

      1. The length of time that the Instant Rewind is set to, because when you change channels or access the EPG, this data has to be flushed from the hard drive.

      2. The number of programmes recorded in the planner. This seems to have the most effect when the box is first switched on.

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      Quote Originally Posted by Old_nick View Post
      ..............
      ......... The length of time that the Instant Rewind is set to, because when you change channels or access the EPG, this data has to be flushed from the hard drive.

      ............
      Good point. Mine is OFF ( not needed as Sky Sports do what I want to see in replay anyway ). Not bothered about Instant Replay for anything else.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      Quote Originally Posted by DonnySky View Post
      I'm relatively new to Sky. I've got an Amstrad HD box, so it's got the old style EPG still on it. In a few posts now I've seen people say that they do regular "Planner Rebuilds". What is this, why do you need to do it and how ?

      Thanks.
      A Planner Rebuild just 'tidies up' the files in the Planner. It's similar to a defrag on a pc, but not as comprehensive. It usually means less hiccups on playback. It doesn't delete any of your stored stuff or future recordings. On my old Thomson, it usually stopped the box from being unnecessarily slow. I do a rebuild once a week, or if I've been doing a mega load of recordings & deletions.

      If you've got the old EPG, use the sub menu >Options & yellow (?) Recorded button to show anything that's hidden from the main Planner page. The failed recordings are usually to be found there. Delete them, and anything unwanted , then do the rebuild.

      I'm on the new EPG now, so apologies if I've forgotten something.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #8
      DonnySky's Avatar
      DonnySky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balby
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow EPG (something I have to live with?)

      Thanks Kenedin, I'll take a look ..

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION