Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Dual tuner in a HD box

    This is a discussion on Dual tuner in a HD box within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Does what it says: Is this possible? Thanks. Its the only thing I dont like about the HD box...

    1. #1
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dual tuner in a HD box

      Does what it says:

      Is this possible?

      Thanks.

      Its the only thing I dont like about the HD box


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      It can record 2 programs while you watch another recording. What don't you like about it?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      It cant record two programs while I watch tv, like the virgin box.

      I can record one and watch one, also it tends to override a recording if I record a program that overlaps.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      Quote Originally Posted by canada16 View Post
      It cant record two programs while I watch tv, like the virgin box.

      I can record one and watch one, also it tends to override a recording if I record a program that overlaps.
      Don't VM customers only have 1 HD channel to record anyway?

      There's no comparison.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      ........and the HD box is yours to keep, unlike the Virgin V+ -

      We will provide you with a set-top box and remote control, which will be reclaimed if you cease to be a digital television customer for any reason. Additional monthly rental charges apply to any further set-top boxes you may wish to hire.


      The 3 tuners is about the only thing that sets it above Sky's HD, no doubt specially done to get one up on Sky as they use this point in their advert.

      As NR says, there is just no comparison between what Virgin and Sky offer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      no agree but it was really handy

      watch gadget show and missus eastenders and heroes and prison break and supernatural, and they are all on at around the same time, so it was good.

      Its something I will have to live with, or stop watching so much TV..

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      well supernatural 1st screens on Sunday at 9pm on ITV 2 so you can move that so it just clashes with lost or fringe if you have it on ITV2+1, it also has a midnight showing on Tuesdays as well I think.

      You just need to check if what you are watching is a first showing for the week and what +1 channels there are.

      With a bit of juggling you should be able to get everything.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      Quote Originally Posted by canada16 View Post
      no agree but it was really handy

      watch gadget show and missus eastenders and heroes and prison break and supernatural, and they are all on at around the same time, so it was good.

      Its something I will have to live with, or stop watching so much TV..
      Do what we have done, get Multiroom and then you can record more programs
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Dual tuner in a HD box

      ........or get one of these -
      newsletter - Aria PC

      Then you can record 4 channels and maybe watch 2 if you TV does split screen

      I have a freeview box hooked up to my Lite-on recorder for the odd time when programs clash. Even retired, I can't find time to watch everything I record.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION