Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Component Outs - What are the chances?

    This is a discussion on Component Outs - What are the chances? within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi All, I bought my samsung 32" LCD when the XBOX360 came out and it only has VGA DVI and ...

    1. #1
      s1ndr0me's Avatar
      s1ndr0me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWPEU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Component Outs - What are the chances?

      Hi All,

      I bought my samsung 32" LCD when the XBOX360 came out and it only has VGA DVI and Component connections. The new Sky HD boxes seem to be HDMI only. When ordered HD I specifically asked the lady if I could have a component box. After she put me on hold she said "No body here seems to think it will be a problem". I duely asked her to put a note on my order and at the end of the process I asked to confirm my request for a component capable box, Which she did.

      Does anyone reckon its worth calling the day before the install to double check? Or is it just gonna be be the luck of the draw whether the guys gonna have one on the van?

      Kind regards

      S1n


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      heyho's Avatar
      heyho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      I'm in exactly the same boat s1ndr0me. My Sky HD is getting installed on Saturday PM

      But my Sky operator told me she was unable to add such a note to the order. I even rang tech support direct who, after a lengthy wait, could only tell me that the box only came with an HDMI cable and not a component one (they were unaware of the change)

      Presumably there must be some of the old boxes knocking around but you woudl need to speak to the installation guy.

      Worse case scenario for me would be to output it via scart to my scart/component box as per my Sky+ setup and try to swap the new box with someone.

      But as s1ndr0me asks - has anyone else had this situation

    4. #3
      andya's Avatar
      andya is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      Quote Originally Posted by s1ndr0me View Post
      Hi All,

      I bought my samsung 32" LCD when the XBOX360 came out and it only has VGA DVI and Component connections. The new Sky HD boxes seem to be HDMI only. When ordered HD I specifically asked the lady if I could have a component box. After she put me on hold she said "No body here seems to think it will be a problem". I duely asked her to put a note on my order and at the end of the process I asked to confirm my request for a component capable box, Which she did.

      Does anyone reckon its worth calling the day before the install to double check? Or is it just gonna be be the luck of the draw whether the guys gonna have one on the van?

      Kind regards

      S1n
      I had an HDCP fault which i described in another thread but when the guys came out to check it they tried a new HD box instead of my own to see if that would help, this new box had component too. They said that the newest boxes will be manufactured without component but im guessing they will have a lot of old boxes still with component. Im sure they will be able to give you what your looking for.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      The Sky Installer would normally ring you the night before, make sure you tell him your requirements.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      I had HD fitted 10 days ago and the box has component out as well as all the other connections.

    7. #6
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      Quote Originally Posted by s1ndr0me View Post
      Hi All,

      I bought my samsung 32" LCD when the XBOX360 came out and it only has VGA DVI and Component connections. The new Sky HD boxes seem to be HDMI only. When ordered HD I specifically asked the lady if I could have a component box. After she put me on hold she said "No body here seems to think it will be a problem". I duely asked her to put a note on my order and at the end of the process I asked to confirm my request for a component capable box, Which she did.

      Does anyone reckon its worth calling the day before the install to double check? Or is it just gonna be be the luck of the draw whether the guys gonna have one on the van?

      Kind regards

      S1n


      On a side note...


      Why not get an HDMI>DVI cable, & use the TV's DVI socket?

    8. #7
      s1ndr0me's Avatar
      s1ndr0me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWPEU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Component Outs - What are the chances?

      Hi Again everyone.

      Indeed the Sky installer did not have a box that had component out. I had the thing installed anyway after seeing a couple of nice TV's on ebuyer. I also bit the bullet and bought a HDMI-DVI cable. It arrived yesterday and worked a treat.

      1080i HD goodness!

      Shame its highlighted all the bad areas of my screen but at least I am not in a rush for a new TV.

      Thanks to everyone thats posted

      Pease pudding

      S1n

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION