Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    SkyHD Box Ports

    This is a discussion on SkyHD Box Ports within the Sky+ HD Supertelly forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Just going through the fourm and found this. Can this be done on an exisiting HD. I don't really want ...

    1. #11
      Bigggles's Avatar
      Bigggles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01767
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Just going through the fourm and found this.
      Can this be done on an exisiting HD. I don't really want to dismantle my HD box as it's only 3 weeks old.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      No, you have to open it up.

    4. #13
      hurdy's Avatar
      hurdy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      Quote Originally Posted by Placehold View Post
      Ok
      I hooked it up to my PC, used a partition manager after formatting the hard drive to seperate it into three equal portions, not that hard

      Now you can hook the external drive up and use the copy function to firstly transfer all your movies and programmes over,then open the lib on the HD box,
      Its like cracking a stone open, make sure you DO NOT break any of the lug nuts

      Its adviseable to leave a jumper in place as this will slow the transfer rate down and stop crashes from occuring, should be anywhere between 125 - 160Mbytes/second.

      To keep it firm, i applied a thin layer of rubber adhesive to the bottom, then replaced the old drive with the new one. If you have ever replaced a hard drive in a pc, its exactly the same
      2Port SATA150 PCI Card, 2 SATA POWER CONV 4P TO 15P, Akasa SATA-45 cable ...etc

      Once you have installed it the same way the old one came out, screw it all together and perform a full system reset

      Press and hold the lft and right arrow keys on the top front of your HD box while disconnecting and reconnecting the power. The front of the box will light up and the center circle will start to spin, Let go of the arrow buttons and leave for 10 minuts,

      Switch it on and there you go

      Regards




      P

      P.S I should also mention it was a 750GB hard drive i used
      Sorry dude, I'm not with you. If I read you right, you are describing plugging in an external drive via USB and copying the contents of the Sky+ box to the drive via the copy function. How does that work if you haven't upgraded the internal drive , the process of which you said activates the USB in the first place? You then describe how to upgrade the internal drive of the sky+ box. Surely thats different to what you initially decribed?

      If I've read it wrong then I apologise - can you just confirm the steps you took, because if you get external drive support via USB working then you will become a bit of a legend!!!

    5. #14
      Azasmith's Avatar
      Azasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrowden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Wellingborough, UK
      Posts
      292
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      I'm assuming, the only way you can do this is with 2 HDD caddies plugged into the USB on your computer... Not the USB on the Sky box.

    6. #15
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      watched a film from a flashdrive lol
      what a loads off crap . this cant be done at all . if it did then it be all over the internet

      i want proof.. you got photos real ones .

      as for the 3 partition on hd thats a lol

      the space is 1,for main recordings .2,for anytime . no 3rd at all if there was it wont work
      there might be a 3rd soon for the video on demand rip off crap
      Last edited by jasonx1; 01-10-09 at 08:03 AM. Reason: forgot to say
      samsung sky hd 973004(upgraded 500gb) also pace sky hd 9F3004. fitted with a 65cm triax solid dish.
      SAMSUNG PS50B450 50" plasma tv.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html check this out if our havin probelms

    7. #16
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: SkyHD Box Ports

      I agree. He must be smoking some pretty strong stuff

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION