Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Sky Anytime install issue...

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime install issue... within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Indeed I had the 'black box from hell' but managed to fix it. My preferred browser is Mozilla Firefox. When ...

    1. #11
      gregisthedude's Avatar
      gregisthedude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      Indeed I had the 'black box from hell' but managed to fix it. My preferred browser is Mozilla Firefox. When I went to adobe .com and installed the flash player, everything was fine and I had the latest version 9 installed and it worked beautifully on adobe's test page: and yet the black box remained.

      This is the thing - Sky Anytime doesn't like Firefox. (I noticed the screenshot user seems to use Firefox).

      I opened Explorer 6 and went to adobe.com and the flash player it said I had was an old version 6. I installed (again) the latest version 9, and after that Sky Anytime worked properly. Interestingly, after opening Sky Anytime for the first time, it said I needed a upgrade of some sort and gave me a link to click. My default Firefox browser took me to it but once I was there, the 'upgrade' button was greyed out. I went back to it with Explorer and the upgrade button worked as it should.

      There is nothing to stop you using Firefox once you get Anytime working.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Talon's Avatar
      Talon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      Just a quick note to say that I had the same issue - Sky Anytime would start, but I would get only a blue box.

      This was due to Flash not being installed through IE. I had installed it through Firefox and it was working, but I had to reinstall it through IE for Sky Anytime to work.

      Thanks for the help

    4. #13
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      everytime i reinstall it i get a message saying that my detials are wrong and i have to phoneup to get them reset

    5. #14
      garyxbyrne's Avatar
      garyxbyrne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      Ive tried time and time again to install this. it installs, does its thing. then when it goes to load an error box appears saying "There was a problem opening Sky Anytime".

      Im running a very capable XP machine, have windows mp11, and the latest flash installed. Anybody know what might be causing this?

    6. #15
      marathemge's Avatar
      marathemge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      Did you get anywhere wtih this? I am having the same problem. Thx

    7. #16
      mrcross's Avatar
      mrcross is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: skelmersdale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      With grey box issue I installed flashplayer plus (got it free from Free Software Downloads and Software Reviews - Download.com) that cured the flash issue.

    8. #17
      gregisthedude's Avatar
      gregisthedude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime install issue...

      Quote Originally Posted by garyxbyrne View Post
      Ive tried time and time again to install this. it installs, does its thing. then when it goes to load an error box appears saying "There was a problem opening Sky Anytime".

      Im running a very capable XP machine, have windows mp11, and the latest flash installed. Anybody know what might be causing this?
      Are you loading flash using IE? If not, you need to.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION