Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky anytime on osx

    This is a discussion on Sky anytime on osx within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Is it possible to use sky anytime on Mac OSX? Many thanks...

    1. #1
      griff92's Avatar
      griff92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mansfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky anytime on osx

      Is it possible to use sky anytime on Mac OSX?

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      griff92's Avatar
      griff92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mansfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      Nevermind... I realise it isn't.

      Thanks anyway

    4. #3
      movielad's Avatar
      movielad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      If you're using an Intel Mac, you can always use something like Parallels or VMware Fusion to install a copy of Windows XP and then use Anytime with that. That's what I've done:

      SkyBlogBand: Testing Sky Anytime under Virtualisation

      Works okay with Parallels, but because Fusion has debugging code enabled, it's quite a bit slower (at this time - could all change!). You could also use Boot Camp and use Windows natively on the Mac hardware.

      M.
      http://www.skyblogband.org.uk (relaunching soon)
      - A consumer's PoV of Sky Broadband
      http://google.apps.me.uk
      - Getting to grips with the Google Apps service

    5. #4
      griff92's Avatar
      griff92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mansfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      Intel mac... I spit in your face dear sir. Power mac G5 for me all the way. However I have installed virtualPC 7 and XPSP2 onto that. So I will run it from there. On a powermac G5 dual 2.5ghz it runs like a normal P4 machine.

      Thanks anyway

      James

    6. #5
      movielad's Avatar
      movielad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      Would be very interested in hearing what the video performance is like. I'm running mine on a Macbook, currently with 1Gb RAM and 512Mb dedicated to the virtual machine.

      M.
      http://www.skyblogband.org.uk (relaunching soon)
      - A consumer's PoV of Sky Broadband
      http://google.apps.me.uk
      - Getting to grips with the Google Apps service

    7. #6
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      I've tried at work with the following:-

      Top-spec Mac Mini (Intel!)
      Parallels Desktop.
      Basic XP install.

      The performance was OK.

      It got me thinking that maybe the best way to install and use the software anyway would be by using a VM, regardless of what OS you're using. If you get sick of it, delete the VM and it's gone.

      But back to topic, it works well on my little Mac Mini!



    8. #7
      movielad's Avatar
      movielad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      I've made so many calls to the Sky Anytime team in activating the service during the testing of the service under virtualisation they probably think that either I'm a pirate or I have more PCs than Microsoft.

      M.
      http://www.skyblogband.org.uk (relaunching soon)
      - A consumer's PoV of Sky Broadband
      http://google.apps.me.uk
      - Getting to grips with the Google Apps service

    9. #8
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      I never got round to the activation bit, tbh. I was planning to flatten my PC and rebuild it, so it wasn't on my PC long enough!

      As for the Mac, that VM has been deleted and is currently in the process of being replaced by a Vista VM. I have no idea how badly Vista will run on a Mac Mini, but I'm about to find out...



    10. #9
      griff92's Avatar
      griff92 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mansfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky anytime on osx

      I'm yet to get a copy of tiger... i mean vista same thing almost!

      I activated sky anytime on a laptop so havn't had chance to ring sky yet to change it so I can use it on a different pc.

      Would be interesting to see what its like on a Virtual PC. The video play back will probably be a bit rubbish but we'll see.

      Its a shame they don't put some development into a sky anytime application for OSX.

      Any way

      Cheers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION