Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

    This is a discussion on Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I don't use Sky Go very often but when I do I find that even though I am using the ...

    1. #1
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

      I don't use Sky Go very often but when I do I find that even though I am using the same device as the last time it doesn't seem to recognise this and makes me go to manage devices and delete an earlier version of this device so I can watch a programme. This is a pain in the butt as it also only lets you do this once per month. is this a common problem?

      I also noticed that there is a time lag on Sky Go over Sky TV of about 50 seconds...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

      The recognition issue might be down to you clearing out the cache, but it may be something else.

      The time delay is normal for Sky Go and all of Sky's other streaming services.

      Essentially all the live video is captured and then processed by Sky and uploaded to the servers on a constant basis. It is also processed so that it is compatible and not too heavy on the data stream.

      Then your device will download enough to create a buffer. The buffer becomes essential should you momentarily lose the Internet connection. I forget how long the buffer is, but there are several seconds of it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bryan (01-05-18)

    5. #3
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

      Hi you must have the new version of sky go every time you download a version on to your 2 devices it ask you remove 1 and it could be the same device and you have to wait for a month or ring up and ask them to reset your devices. I am on windows 7 on a pc my new sky go App won't work so what I do is I go on my wife side of the pc and watch the old version of sky go.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to 5amp For This Useful Post:

      bryan (01-05-18)

    7. #4
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The recognition issue might be down to you clearing out the cache, but it may be something else.
      I don't clear the cache very often and last year I used Sky Go in June and again in July when it didn't recognise I was using the same device. Recently I again used Sky Go last week and had to delete one of the previous instances of the same device in order to get it to work. Maybe I should phone Sky like 5amp recommends and explain what is happening but I always come here first as I trust the advice here more than Sky...

    8. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky Go doesn't recognise device previously used

      In this case it's likely due to Sky keep updating the app.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bryan (03-05-18)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION