Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29
    Like Tree1Likes

    SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

    This is a discussion on SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable. within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello all, I've just bought a Panasonic Smart TV and was hoping to connect my Sky Go account to it ...

    1. #1
      jambri's Avatar
      jambri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: talk talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Hello all,

      I've just bought a Panasonic Smart TV and was hoping to connect my Sky Go account to it via an HDMI cable and my laptop. Sky Go plays fine on the PC laptop until it's plugged into the TV. The website remains visible but an error message appears on the embedded video screen.

      I know Skygo doesn't work from a tablet or phone, but most people say it does from a PC or mac.

      Any help appreciated!
      Thanks,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Hi Jambri and welcome to the forum.
      What does the error message say?
      Are you attempting to swap from laptop screen to TV after connecting to the Sky Go website?
      If so try using the TV as the default main display for your laptop before launching your web browser and see if that makes any difference.

    4. #3
      jambri's Avatar
      jambri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: talk talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Hi Seawright, thanks for getting back to me.

      The error message is as follows: t6036 C4110

      Also, when the hdmi cable is inserted it knocks off the HD channels on the TV. Not sure if that helps. Will try the other method you've mentioned when i get home!

      Thanks!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Phooey! It looks like someone has been busy at Sky and has managed to find a way to block Sky Go from being used that way.

      That error code means that Silverlight believes that an unsecured video driver is present.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      jambri's Avatar
      jambri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: talk talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Hi Jambri and welcome to the forum.
      What does the error message say?
      Are you attempting to swap from laptop screen to TV after connecting to the Sky Go website?
      If so try using the TV as the default main display for your laptop before launching your web browser and see if that makes any difference.

      I tried this technique and unfortunately it doesn't work. Any other possible workarounds? Thanks in advance!

    7. #6
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Quote Originally Posted by jambri View Post
      I tried this technique and unfortunately it doesn't work. Any other possible workarounds? Thanks in advance!
      So you are using the external display function (control + [one of the Function Keys - it will have a monitor icon on the keyboard next to it]) and it works for the normal desktop and other functions but not Sky Go?

      If this is fully the case then it is a DRM issue and Sky are forcing you to consider a piracy alternative!
      You should email them and let them know you are doing this because of this.

      You have one other option, to get multiscreen.
      The Sky+HDw box and install are free for now for your first extra room. The extra room is 11.25 per month.

    8. #7
      jambri's Avatar
      jambri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: talk talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Quote Originally Posted by bubblegun View Post
      So you are using the external display function (control + [one of the Function Keys - it will have a monitor icon on the keyboard next to it]) and it works for the normal desktop and other functions but not Sky Go?

      If this is fully the case then it is a DRM issue and Sky are forcing you to consider a piracy alternative!
      You should email them and let them know you are doing this because of this.

      You have one other option, to get multiscreen.
      The Sky+HDw box and install are free for now for your first extra room. The extra room is 11.25 per month.
      Yep, that's correct Bubblegun. Pesky Sky!

    9. #8
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Superfast + Boost
      Router: Sky Broadband Hub SR203
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tbV2+mini
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,037
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Can you try making the TV the primary or only screen display and silverlight with sky go should then work.

      What browser and OS are you using by the way?

      Also, good sky knowledge base here, but from what you say, sky go working on the laptop only
      Last edited by lettice; 30-08-14 at 01:41 PM.

    10. #9
      jambri's Avatar
      jambri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: talk talk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      Can you try making the TV the primary or only screen display and silverlight with sky go should then work.

      What browser and OS are you using by the way?

      Also, good sky knowledge base here, but from what you say, sky go working on the laptop only
      I'm on Windows 7 and have tried it with Chrome and Safari.

      It won't let me duplicate the screen so the TV as primary or only screen display is all that i can display - sadly this doesn't work.

      Yes, that's right Sky Go only working on the laptop, as soon as i try and play it on the TV through hdmi it brings up the error message.

      I've just tried the Sky resolve, but this didn't work either. Fix Sky Go error messages on your computer - Sky Community

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyGo won't connect from Laptop to Smart tv with HDMI cable.

      If you have a VGA output on your laptop and a VGA input on the TV, that may work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION