Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Download/move to SD on Android phone

    This is a discussion on Download/move to SD on Android phone within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I've just started using Sky go on a Galaxy S4 but am finding the memory is getting used up too ...

    1. #1
      NikkJ's Avatar
      NikkJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNCED
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Download/move to SD on Android phone

      I've just started using Sky go on a Galaxy S4 but am finding the memory is getting used up too quickly.

      Is there a way of using the microSD as the main download medium or migrating saved content to it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Download/move to SD on Android phone

      NikkJ,
      At present on the main Sky Go app nor the Sky Go Tablet beta app has this function. It has been asked for and we have been told it's something that is being looked into on the feature backlog.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Download/move to SD on Android phone

      Looking at something else this morning, there appears to be a major bug with the Samsung S4 in that the phone won't let you write anything to the SD card.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Download/move to SD on Android phone

      Quote Originally Posted by NikkJ View Post
      I've just started using Sky go on a Galaxy S4 but am finding the memory is getting used up too quickly.

      Is there a way of using the microSD as the main download medium or migrating saved content to it?
      Your best bet for finding-out if this is possible is xda-developers forum.
      It might be possible but will a PITA to do it.

      SkyGo is pretty well locked down so your best bet will probably be to move everything else to SD card.

    6. #5
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Download/move to SD on Android phone

      The bug has only popped up after updating to JB 4.3 but there is a fix temp fix out you have to add a new line of code in the platform.xml, this is what the start of the new line looks like " name=”android.permission.WRITE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE” > ".

      There is nothing on xda for this due to as you say Sky have locked down Sky Go pretty good. This is still be asked for on the beta group and we are told the same as I posted before " It's on the feature backlog"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION