Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 24
    Like Tree3Likes

    Sky Go not working?

    This is a discussion on Sky Go not working? within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Following an OS Update on my phone on Thursday I could no longer watch Sky Go, despite it being a ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Sky Go not working?

      Following an OS Update on my phone on Thursday I could no longer watch Sky Go, despite it being a supported phone.

      Thanks to another member, there is a solution:

      Uninstall Sky Go first, then follow the link below.

      xda-developers - View Single Post - [APP] Sky Go for Android (UK ONLY)

      It works well on my Samsung Galaxy S ii with the updated OS.

      For other phones supported, please feel free to read the entire thread: [APP] Sky Go for Android (UK ONLY) - xda-developers


      Edit: Sadly sky has blocked the above application as of 2-7-2012. They have announced that a new version that supports ICS will be released later in July 2012. In the mean time should a new hacked version become available, we will let you know.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 04-07-12 at 09:01 PM.
      NewsreadeR, Wingco and Zino_Jones like this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Wingco (14-05-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen Internet
      Router: TP-Link Deco M5
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Well my HTC Sensation is supposed to be supported but hasn't ever worked! This doesn't seem to work either

    5. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Please do check the whole thread. I know it is a long one, but there may be something there for the HTC Sensation.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Usually the link you want is in the first post:

      [APP] Sky Go for Android (UK ONLY) - xda-developers

    7. #5
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Hi all,
      Ok the latest apk is on page 66 post 656, it 1.0.5 i think the other 4 are on pages before, so use the latest 1.
      Adam, is your phone rooted by any chance?????. As I know for sure it works on your phone make & model. I've put it on several of them without any problems.
      Iechyd da

    8. #6
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen Internet
      Router: TP-Link Deco M5
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
      My phone is rooted yeah. That could by why as a few other similar streaming services don't work for that reason! I'll try that new apk tomorrow :-)

      Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2

    9. #7
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Adam,
      Yep that's your problem then, you need to hide your root for it to work, most on xda use Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper but there are others rootkeeper et al. If you want it to work on your phone look at the thread and start around page 140 as there's lots of information about getting rooted phones working. The official Sky Go app will never work on rooted android phones, xda having been trying for a while to get it to work and so in the mean time your root has to be hidden.
      hope this helps you.
      iechyd da

    10. #8
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen Internet
      Router: TP-Link Deco M5
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
      Thanks for the reply mate! Using the app you suggested I'm able to login now and I get stuck on the loading screen. Getting somewhere at least! I will read that thread later :-)

    11. #9
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Adam,
      OK np don't forget you have to hide your root for it to work.
      iechyd da

    12. #10
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Go not working?

      Worked originally when downloaded. Now for some reason gets stuck on the "loading" phase. Not being technically minded I've no idea what I'm looking for on the thread with your original link.

      Any pointers would be gratefully appreciated.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION