Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

    This is a discussion on Sky go error on ipad - anyone else? within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm trying to watch the City vs Porto game on ESPN using Sky go on the ipad and have found ...

    1. #1
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      I'm trying to watch the City vs Porto game on ESPN using Sky go on the ipad and have found the only working channel is Sky News. All other channels wgive the message "unknown error, restart the app or try again later". I completely restarted my ipad, to no avail.

      I've noticed three new channels have also been added since i last used it a few days ago, coincidence?

      Anyone seeing the same?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      Sky seems to have blocked Sky Go on Jailbroken devices!

    4. #3
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      Yep, thanks for the reply, just found this on Sky's forums. Not happy that Sky feel they can punish people who prefer to jailbreak (which is a legal activity for anyone wondering). Problem solved though, transfered install to a laptop, which has a bigger screen, and more channels.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      Not happy that Sky feel they can punish people who prefer to jailbreak
      It could be that Sky have to comply with Apple to allow them to offer the service. Apple don't look too kindly on people who mess around with their hardware or software, do they?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      I don't think it's that. The new Android version won't work on "rooted" phones.

      It's probably because jailbroken iDevices / rooted Android devices would be able to bypass the TV-out restriction on the Sky Go app, a restriction I assume is in place due to licensing issues with the content Sky Go provides. May not have been a big deal before, but now that Sky Go offers more channels perhaps Sky had to tighten it up.

    7. #6
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      Quote Originally Posted by Tezcatlipoca View Post
      I don't think it's that. The new Android version won't work on "rooted" phones.

      It's probably because jailbroken iDevices / rooted Android devices would be able to bypass the TV-out restriction on the Sky Go app, a restriction I assume is in place due to licensing issues with the content Sky Go provides. May not have been a big deal before, but now that Sky Go offers more channels perhaps Sky had to tighten it up.
      I can understand that they are trying to protect their interests, can't blame them for that, but I don't see any point in what they've done.

      I've now transferred Sky Go to my laptop, and it is now very easy to connect my laptop up to a TV and send the picture to that. No need to jailbreak, no need to buy expensive cables/adapters, they've actually just made it very easy for me to do exactly what they are trying to stop!

      Personally, I've no interest in putting Sky Go on a big screen, the image quality is fine on the iPad screen, but I'd imagine it would look terrible stretched on a bigger screen.

      Oh, and let's not forget that the JB devs are probably hacking away at this right now, and we could have a workaround in no time at all. (at which point, I'll move the license back ).

    8. #7
      LEEMJONES's Avatar
      LEEMJONES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky go error on ipad - anyone else?

      A cydia bypass has now been released

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION