Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

    This is a discussion on Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; "Manage Devices With Sky Go you can register up to 2 devices per household. Your devices can be any combination ...

    1. #11
      hawkey123's Avatar
      hawkey123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327700039
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      "Manage Devices
      With Sky Go you can register up to 2 devices per household. Your devices can be any combination of PCs, Macs, iPhones or iPads.

      A new device will automatically be registered when you watch any channel on it for the first time.

      You can watch Sky TV on both of your devices at the same time."

      The above is the same as stephen79 has already pointed out.

      Rddwarfcrew who are the powers that be with reference to registering up to 7 devices ?
      It is impossible to register more than two devices.

      Really annoyed that sky have done this, i had previously had xbox360, laptop (as main) and iphone (Sky Mobile Tv) plus the kids laptops all using Sky Player thought technology was moving forward not backwards, we all have more gadgets these days plus my kids both have laptops I have a multiroom that they share but they dont always want to watch the same programme, not that they watch more than an hour of tele a day, especially this time of year, leaves me with some peace and quiet whilst I set the example of watching tele in the meantime explaining it's not good for them to watch to much, responsible parenting ehh .

      The only bonus is the mobile version is free although no longer with espn which has annoyed me, even more, what exactly is "Better" about Sky Go compared to Sky Player and Sky Mobile TV which had espn ?

      Please correct me if I am wrong but Sky Go will not include espn. I would be ok with paying for espn on Sky Go say a Fiver but to expensive at 9.00 on main sky box pay enough already full package plus phone and broadband.

      Apologies for any rambling please skim read if you wish.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      Quote Originally Posted by hawkey123 View Post
      ...Your devices can be any combination of PCs, Macs, iPhones or iPads.
      ...but only 1 computer can download and install the desktop version of Sky Go.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      Stephen79's Avatar
      Stephen79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNRE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      Hawkey, I can think of two improvements;

      1. The player is far better (so far) and faster - I didn't have to download any software (and don't intend to). Skyplayer was awful; it took an age to install/load and would fill up all the devices with the same device and even lock me out.
      2. Can use two devices at the same time.

      The 3rd would be that it's free on iphones/ipads etc - BUT, since that is not yet available I can't comment on the service. I think sky have made a huge error in launching this "go" service without the mobile part being ready.

      Again, whilst 7 devices have been mentioned, we can only judge on what is currently available and that is a measly 2 devices.

      I agree with your other points.

    5. #14
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Hiya All,
      Ok Sky Go live today but when I try to watch a movie live I keep getting the following:--

      THIS MOVIE IS NOT AVAILABLE TO WATCH LIVE

      So why do they show it in their the guide and as 1 of the channels to watch?????????
      Probably for licensing reasons.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Hiya All,
      Ok Sky Go live today but when I try to watch a movie live I keep getting the following:--

      THIS MOVIE IS NOT AVAILABLE TO WATCH LIVE

      So why do they show it in their the guide and as 1 of the channels to watch?????????
      Just tried it and it works OK for me, watched a bit of The Experiment. They have not made the navigation as good as it could be, took a lot of clicks to get the film playing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      I think it'll be like before, when a particular series or film couldn't be shown on Sky Player, they have to block it.

      The Simpsons is one such programme that wasn't viewable with Sky Player.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      766
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      trying to get SKY go but no luck i have installed there silverlight product to enable to me to get sky go but when i load the website up all i get is please install silverlight. i reinstall silverlight to be told this version is already installed please help.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      Remove all versions of Silverlight you have. Add Remove/Programs and features, highlight the progam and click Unistall. Now go here - Get Silverlight | Microsoft Silverlight and download the latest version(4.0.60531.0). Do this whether you have this version or not as your present installation may be corrupted. It is important that you remove all previous installations before installing the new one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      766
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      SOLVED!! it wont work on a 64bit version of IE

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's removing skyplayer from wmc 6th july

      You should be able to run IE in 32bit. See if you have this file on your PC - "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

      If you have this, right click it and create a shortcut on your Desktop and use this to launch the 32bit version. There may be another way, but that is the only one I know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION