Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    C:1501 error

    This is a discussion on C:1501 error within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi I can logon to Sky player, but I keep getting a C:1501 error when I try to view something ...

    1. #1
      Martin4Jay's Avatar
      Martin4Jay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Monkton Heathfield Somerset
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      C:1501 error

      Hi
      I can logon to Sky player, but I keep getting a C:1501 error when I try to view something live has anyone had this problem?
      Thanks
      Martin
      Last edited by Martin4Jay; 04-06-10 at 09:46 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      I am seeing this to with the on demand stuff from the Sky Player webpage. Apparently it is a known problem and according to the blog bit they are working on it although there doesn't seem to be a solution yet, there are a lot of unhappy people with it:

      Sky Player Forums

    4. #3
      Martin4Jay's Avatar
      Martin4Jay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Monkton Heathfield Somerset
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      I am seeing this to with the on demand stuff from the Sky Player webpage. Apparently it is a known problem and according to the blog bit they are working on it although there doesn't seem to be a solution yet, there are a lot of unhappy people with it:

      Sky Player Forums
      Thanks Alan b I hope they will get it sorted soon.
      Martin

    5. #4
      Martin4Jay's Avatar
      Martin4Jay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Monkton Heathfield Somerset
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      I thought I would pass this on for anyone is is interested in this problem.

      P.S I switched off my firewall still did not do anything and we are on sky broadband also been waiting for a phone call from sky about this problem and no one has rang in the last 6 days

      We hope we haven't broken any forum rules if yes sorry

      sorry about this were just upset.

      Thank you for contacting Sky Help Centre.


      In order to resolve the error you have been getting “Unable to play video. Please try refreshing this page.”, please follow the process below:



      1. Please right click on the section of the screen in which the content should be playing back:

      2. You should get an option for “silverlight configuration”

      3. Click on the “playback” tab and ensure that the box is ticked for “enable playback of protected content (DRM)”. If it’s already ticked, still continue with the rest of the process.

      4. Click OK

      5. Close the Sky Player application or your browser window

      6. Launch the Sky Player again and Log in

      7. Attempt to play back the content affected.

      8. If still affected please restart the PC



      The c1501 error you are experiencing can also be caused by a connection time out when trying to access the Sky Player content.



      There are a number of possible causes for this:



      · You are connected to the Internet through a proxy server which is blocking the Sky Player content. This is most likely to be the case if you are accessing Sky Player from your workplace, university network or similar. As these proxy servers are controlled by the networks administrator, Sky are unable to assist in correcting this problem, however your network administrator may be able to assist you.

      · Connecting over mobile broadband/satellite broadband or over a VPN. Try connecting though a standard broadband connection if possible.

      · Your firewall may be configured to block aspects of Sky Player. Please ask your firewall administrator to check this.



      Unfortunately, as mentioned above Sky are unable to assist in correcting this problem.

      I'm just gob smacked



      I trust this information assists, however, should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact our team on the above email address.



      Kind regards

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      If you read the Sky blog forums, the link of which I posted above you will see that Sky already suggest this as a possible solution. For the record I used the service again this morning without any problems so I would say the issue is that their end and not yours and the fact many others also have the same problem backs this up.

    7. #6
      Martin4Jay's Avatar
      Martin4Jay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Monkton Heathfield Somerset
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      If you read the Sky blog forums, the link of which I posted above you will see that Sky already suggest this as a possible solution. For the record I used the service again this morning without any problems so I would say the issue is that their end and not yours and the fact many others also have the same problem backs this up.
      Thanks Alan I just wished the Technical services was more helpful ref: the red text at the bottom of this thread.
      Many thanks
      Martin

    8. #7
      mattbarker's Avatar
      mattbarker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSCHI
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk International
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: C:1501 error

      Hi,

      I get exactly the same error message no matter what I try to watch.

      One thing of note is that if I use Internet Explorer instead of Firefox the same items play fine! However Firefox 3 is listed as a supported browser on the Sky Player requirements page.

      Matt

    9. #8
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      Despite my post above I still get this error message when using the player to watch catch up programs. I hadn't thought about using a different browser so will do so when I come to use it again. I am using Firefox 3.6 btw.

    10. #9
      mattbarker's Avatar
      mattbarker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSCHI
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk International
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: C:1501 error

      I emailed sky and got a response which resolved my issue, I can now watch live TV and on demand stuff with Firefox. The issue was caused by the Adblock Plus extension in my case.

      Instructions from Sky:


      Firefox:


      If you are using Firefox with the Adblock Plus add-on turned on you will get the error when you try to play back content as Adblock Plus blocks Sky Players ad server address by default. If this is the case, please follow the steps below.

      Please note – You may be using similar software on an alternative browser, if this is the case, check the settings of this software as it may be blocking Sky Player.

      To cure the issue on Firefox follow these steps:

      Open Firefox and go to Watch TV Online | Sky Player
      Click on the little black arrow next to the Adblock Plus icon, then click on the “Disable on skyplayer.sky.com” option
      The Adblock Plus icon will turn green and the customer should then try and play the content again. They should find the content plays as normal.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to mattbarker For This Useful Post:

      GeeDubYah (06-03-11)

    12. #10
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: C:1501 error

      Nice one Matt, never thought about Adblock causing the problem and it probably didn't help that I was not showing it in the status bar or toolbar.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION