Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 51

    How do I get sky player in WMC?

    This is a discussion on How do I get sky player in WMC? within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Well I have strProviderId instead of strCountryCode. Hmm. I might try changing it to GB. Thanks for that....

    1. #41
      ellisbodds's Avatar
      ellisbodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Well I have strProviderId instead of strCountryCode.
      Hmm. I might try changing it to GB.
      Thanks for that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Worked fine for me no problems.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #43
      ellisbodds's Avatar
      ellisbodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Didn't work
      I give up for the mo.

    5. #44
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      It's not particulary good for MS and Sky when the Sky player is so fiddly to get running and doesn't even seem to work for some users.

      To be honest I wasn't a real fan of MCE when I was using it on the Xbox and Vista, it was better just to play stuff across the network than use that.

      Oh well it's the 1st dissapointing thing about win7, and it's not exactly a deal breaker for me.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #45
      Lem's Avatar
      Lem
      Lem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Ok, finally got the skyplayer shortcut in Media Center.
      If you are having trouble try this.

      First, make sure your location in windows control panel is set to UK.
      Run regedit and navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Media Center\Settings\ProgramGuide and make sure your strCountryCode is set to GB (If you do not have this entry then you will have to make one yourself)
      In windows explorer go to C:\Progarmdata\Microsoft\eHome (note, this folder is hidden by default. If you cannot view the folder copy and paste the above it into your address bar)
      Delete all the contents of the folder (but not the actual folder)
      Now, open media center and go to Settings, General , Automatic Download options, and click Download now. Wait for the 'Download Complete' message.
      Restart media center and the shortcut should be there.

    7. #46
      matt-streamer's Avatar
      matt-streamer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Lem/All,

      Up to this point it seems I've had a similar experience to you. I've edited my registry as suggested, deleted the files from eHome a number of times; restarted , run the download, rebooted; even uninstalled and re-installed WMC...almost everything I can think of. I'm in the UK and have my locale set accordingly

      The additional detail that might make things different for me is that I am running the Windows 7 Release Candidate, but I don't think that should make a difference

      Anybody got any ideas?

    8. #47
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      nah it's not working for me either still and I am on a boxed copy of Pro and I have done all of the above as well.

      It seems to be very awkward for something Sky wants people to use.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #48
      Lem's Avatar
      Lem
      Lem is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      matt-streamer
      Whilst researching the problems I had I did find a few posts that stated that it would not work with the release candidate.

      Undecided Adrian
      I completely agree, it should 'just work'
      I'm actually in Ireland, so blamed the problems I had on that. To be honest, it offers nothing new to skyplayer. Still having to enter a password kind of defeats the point (i use media center a lot, and was hoping to be able to sit back with a remote and have everything available without reaching for a keyboard/mouse)
      Have you still lost the icon completely, or are you having trouble installing?

    10. #49
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      nah it's not working for me either still and I am on a boxed copy of Pro and I have done all of the above as well.

      It seems to be very awkward for something Sky wants people to use.
      Its a shame, because although the preverbial asking for login details is annoying, the actual service is very good.

      Still cannot suss out why I have to pay 1.47 per episode to watch episodes 1 to 3 of Bones though.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    11. #50
      ellisbodds's Avatar
      ellisbodds is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I get sky player in WMC?

      Thankyou Lem, I didn't think of creating the registry key manually. I have done that and it works

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION