Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Khost 100% CPU

    This is a discussion on Khost 100% CPU within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello I settled down to watch Man Utd - Liverpool live and was very pleased with my newly enabled Sky ...

    1. #1
      origrudeboy's Avatar
      origrudeboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crouch End
      Broadband ISP: BT Broadband 3
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Khost 100% CPU

      Hello

      I settled down to watch Man Utd - Liverpool live and was very pleased with my newly enabled Sky Player.

      Suddenly the picture started freezing. I dug around and saw that network usage was still very low so didn't seem like a signal problem.

      I then looked in task manager and saw that khost usually ran at about 30% CPU usage but regularly spiked to 100% which disrupted the program.

      I have a 1.6mhz chip and 4Gb RAM which I though should be sufficient, especially when i have nothing else running.

      This happens regardless of picture quality level.

      The problem seems to be khost gobbling all the resources rather than a broadband issue.

      Anyone else experienced this with live viewing?

      Any suggestions how to stop it?

      Do you think Sky will do anything to regulate a third party product - Kontiki?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      The BBC player had to be changed due to it being a huge resource hog but I assume that Sky hasn't gone over to a less intensive version of the player.

      To be honest I haven't downloaded the Sky player due to all the bad comments I have seen about it and I use a slingbox instead.

      Although I assume that your processor is a 1.6GHz single core, I expect your on the very low end of what the player is able to cope with and I would expect that even though Sky say that it can run the player it may only just do so.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      origrudeboy's Avatar
      origrudeboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Crouch End
      Broadband ISP: BT Broadband 3
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      Hi Adrian

      It's a 1.6 Dual Core.

      What confuses me is that is can run for twenty minutes without any problems which says the laptop spec is sufficient, I would suggest.

      Then the CPU usage goes nuts. My theory is that the Kontiki is trying to upload or do other things in the background. This cripples the CPU and disrupts the viewing.

      Unfortunately there are no Kontiki settings, you take what you are given and I can't regulate it.

      How much better are processors now? Do you think an improved chip would get round this or might Kontiki go and max this one out as well?

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      I am running a 2.83 GHz quad core Core 2 processor with 8 gig of memory and I can only just push 90% on all four cores even when I have a ton of hungry apps all running at the same time.

      Although I don't use sky player so it may just do the same and hog everything for itself.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      I think the problem may be with the amount of downloading the Sky Player is doing in the back ground. It is essentially a P2P client and will be downloading and uploading other things apart from what you are watching live. I don't like and stopped using it as there was no way to control what it was doing, any time you were on line. I am convinced it is at the root of many complaints about slow speeds.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      I have an Intel 1.66 Core 2 Duo in my laptop, currently watching Sweeney Todd and Khost is using less than 30% resources - Picture quality is awesome and no stuttering.

      Maybe try uninstalling and reinstalling?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      blythy's Avatar
      blythy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sunderland, NESU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Khost 100% CPU

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think the problem may be with the amount of downloading the Sky Player is doing in the back ground. It is essentially a P2P client and will be downloading and uploading other things apart from what you are watching live. I don't like and stopped using it as there was no way to control what it was doing, any time you were on line. I am convinced it is at the root of many complaints about slow speeds.
      I tend to agree, if I'm downloading a film (or whatever but I mainly use it for the films) on Sky Player, the longer it runs the more resources it uses. I've just had to build myself a new PC and haven't re-registered sky player to it yet so I can't test it out on this setup, but my old setup was a 2.2ghz single core pc, with only 1gb of ram and things would get very very slow.

      What I would do was kill the kontiki processes in the task manager, both KHost and KService. I'm in the habit of doing it as soon as I turn on my PC now; 4OD also uses it and its a 2 second job.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION