Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    Sky Player Software - FAQs

    This is a discussion on Sky Player Software - FAQs within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; The following are a selection of the most common frequently asked questions. 1) What OS can I use the Sky ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Sky Player Software - FAQs

      The following are a selection of the most common frequently asked questions.

      1) What OS can I use the Sky Player software on?

      The Sky Player will work on:

      • Microsoft Windows Vista (32 bit)
      • Windows XP, Service Pack 3


      Unfortunately, the Sky Player Software is not currently available for Macs or Linux.

      2) How many computers can I register to use the Sky Player software?

      You can only use the Sky Player software application on one computer at a time. This is automatically registered with Sky, on install of the Sky Player software.

      3) What if I wish to change the registered PC that I have the Sky Player software on?

      You will need to contact Sky's CST on 08442 411 599 Once Sky have cleared your current registration, simply install the Sky Player Software on your new PC.

      4) What are the minimum specifications for the PC to install the Sky Player Software?

      • Microsoft Windows Vista (32 bit)
      • Windows XP, Service Pack 3
      • 250MB free disk space for the installation
      • 3GB free disk space for media file storage (recommended 10GB)
      • 512MB memory (RAM)


      5) Will anything on my PC need upgrading to run the Sky Player Software?

      During install of the software, it may be necessary to upgrade or install the following:

      • Windows Media Player 11 (with DRM enabled)
      • Active X components including Kontiki v5
      • NET Framework v2.0


      6) Why do I need to install software if I can watch Sky Player through my browser?

      You will need to use the Sky Player Software, so that you can:

      • watch Movies and Entertainment programmes
      • watch programmes offline
      • ensure top-quality viewing, even with a slow internet connection
      • buy programmes to keep


      7) How do I uninstall the Sky Player software?

      Go to your Control Panel, Add / Remove programs and uninstall the program. If you wish to remove Kontiki, please follow this How to remove Kontiki guide. Although be aware, other On Demand programs would also use this, ie iPlayer etc and these may not work, if you choose to uninstall Kontiki.

      8) Where are the Official Sky Player Help Pages?

      You can visit the Official Sky Player website here.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 21-12-08 at 08:01 PM.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jonnymoe's Avatar
      jonnymoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Player Software - FAQs

      P.S. Sky player also works on Mac OS X as long as they have silverlight installed aswell (Y)

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Player Software - FAQs

      Just to add to this thread.

      From discussions in other threads:

      M$ Windows 7 users can access Sky Player through Windows Media Centre.

      If you use a registry cleaner (for example CCleaner) then ensure that you disable it's ability to reset Silverlight as this can cause your PC to be seen as a new computer when you sign in to Sky Player.
      doozer likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      doozer (15-11-11),steelysteph (08-05-11)

    6. #4
      doozer's Avatar
      doozer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Player Software - FAQs

      So that's one more reason why it wouldn't recognize my PC, the CC cleaner bit.
      I might get back to you if I cant find out how to disable the reset on CC!
      So many hoops to jump thru to watch content on a PC!

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Player Software - FAQs

      Sky Player has now been replaced with Sky Go.

      Many of the same issues apply to Sky Go as they did with Sky Player, but now you can't use Windows Media Centre on the PC to watch the content.

      I might be wrong, but I believe that you can still use the Xbox to view the content through it's Media Centre software.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Sky Player Software - FAQs

      Quote Originally Posted by doozer View Post
      I might get back to you if I cant find out how to disable the reset on CC!
      Uncheck the Microsoft Silverlight box in the Applications tab.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION