Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky Player on more than one PC

    This is a discussion on Sky Player on more than one PC within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Sky Player keeps getting better and better! More fantastic films on Sky Player this week, including Pirates of the Caribbean ...

    1. #1
      The Saturday Boy's Avatar
      The Saturday Boy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Player on more than one PC

      Sky Player keeps getting better and better!
      More fantastic films on Sky Player this week, including Pirates of the Caribbean 3: At World's End. Plus watch live Ryder Cup (free with Multiroom or 10 per month without) and lots of Sky Player content, including new channels, from more than one PC.
      Hi all,

      I've done some searching on Sky and on the internet and the answer is as it always has been, Sky Player is registered to one PC.

      In my regular email from Sky telling me all that was available to download the above paragraph included reference to new channel and from more than one PC.

      I can't find any channels and I can't load it onto another PC - am I missing something?

      Ta


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      I'll try it now and see what happens. As I already have it on my laptop. Last time I tried it refused point blank.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      gsdowner's Avatar
      gsdowner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: God Knows
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      Given up on my main PC which is running Vista 64 Ultimate, I cannot get Sky Player software to run (Installs fine then absolutely nothing happens on launch)

      Installed on old PC with XP Pro and I get this message on the attached screenshot. So two different PC's don't work for me.

      I'll stick to the iPlayer, far easier to use, on any PC.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Player on more than one PC-skyplayererror.jpg  

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      ooops - The other PC obviously my wife's forum account was logged in, but that is my post above.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      Coincidentally I've just set up Sky Player on my son's PC today. Worked fine for a few minutes then got the error message listed above.

      Called that number but it's now changed to an 0844 number. Called that number and got into a queue with the message "your call will be answered in under 44 minutes"! Seeing as that particular 0844 number costs 5p per minute 24 hours a day, I don't think so.

      Makes me feel such a valued customer - not.

    7. #6
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      I cannot get Sky Player to run, software installs fine, register the PC it's installed on on Sky.com then log in via the software, only to be greeted by the error message that I'm not using the PC I've registered to use the software.
      I've disabled my firewall and AV software and still get the error message.

      Any ideas?
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    8. #7
      stereo441's Avatar
      stereo441 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      Hi,

      Not sure if its just me but i have sky player installed and working on 2 computers. I had it on my desktop, but recently bought a laptop, and so wanted it on it instead. I installed it on the laptop and its working fine, well asides the fact i cant get any sound.

    9. #8
      Paul Taylor's Avatar
      Paul Taylor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0118
      Broadband ISP: Sky HD + Movies + Multi Rm
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      I would really like to have it on 2 PC's as well, but Sky Player support told me that it was not possible.

      I have it on our Media PC, which is connected to our main plasma TV.
      But i would also like to have it on my Laptop so i can watch movies etc.. while i am away and travelling on business.

      Sky should really offer this option. Afterall, i do pay for the service.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Player on more than one PC

      But i would also like to have it on my Laptop so i can watch movies etc.. while i am away and travelling on business.
      You can watch Sky Player through a browser, granted its live though. So you would be able to watch it anywhere in the world, unless its based on IPs and then maybe limited to UK IP numbers.

      Sky should really offer this option. Afterall, i do pay for the service.
      I thought Sky Player was free if you are a Sky subscriber?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION