Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    ***switching off anytime***

    This is a discussion on ***switching off anytime*** within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; i have a thomson 127k148 model sky+ box. not sure what the recording capacity is on this model? i don't ...

    1. #1
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ***switching off anytime***

      i have a thomson 127k148 model sky+ box. not sure what the recording capacity is on this model?
      i don't really use the anytime feature so if i disable anytime would that automatically increase my recording capacity, and by how much??
      many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ***switching off anytime***

      Hi

      the short answer is "no" - skyanytime uses a hidden part of the hard drive that you and your planner can't access. So no gain really.

      For more detailed information on anytime - click here

    4. #3
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ***switching off anytime***

      thanks fredwestie
      do you (or anyone else) know what the actual recording capacity of this bow is and how much of it is taken up with the anytime feature?

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: ***switching off anytime***

      You should have up to 40 hours capacity to record your own programmes.
      The HDD is 160Gb, of which 80Gb is reserved for Sky Anytime.
      Annoyingly you can't recover any of this capacity even with Anytime switched off.


    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: ***switching off anytime***

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      You should have up to 40 hours capacity to record your own programmes.
      The HDD is 160Gb, of which 80Gb is reserved for Sky Anytime.
      Annoyingly you can't recover any of this capacity even with Anytime switched off.
      Its not just for Anytime - the next version of EPG for the PVR boxes will utilise disk space allowing you to continue watching the channel you want whilst browsing the EPG.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #6
      fredwestie's Avatar
      fredwestie is offline DLM Admin
      Exchange: Shepherds Bush
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ***switching off anytime***

      I read somewhere that the size of the HD was limited by Sky's contracts with content suppliers. This might be bobbins, but it would explain why there's a cap. No other sensible reason for it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION