Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    anytime on tv - advice please

    This is a discussion on anytime on tv - advice please within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; sorry if i'm in the wrong forum as all the posts on here seem to be about anytime on pc, ...

    1. #1
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      anytime on tv - advice please

      sorry if i'm in the wrong forum as all the posts on here seem to be about anytime on pc, but....
      got a new sky+ box fitted on saturday as my old one was not working well. this one has the anytime feature on it, but i could only get 1 programme listed on saturday and now (monday morn) have 5 showing. is it normal to take days to get a full listing, (i thought you get about 30), i thought it would be instant? i am on the maximum package (films, sports etc)??
      also what is the capacity of these new boxes compared to the old style in terms of hours you can record etc??
      many thanks
      tony.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Hi, it can take up to 7 days to get a full Anytime service downloaded to your hard drive , after that it will delete and download quiet regularly. The Box has to await for the programmes to be aired before they can be downloaded hence the initial delay. The normal sky+box has a 160GB memory but 80GB is reserved for the Anytime service.

    4. #3
      tonygold's Avatar
      tonygold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: gants hill
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      postman pat - many thanks for reply.
      80gb for anytime???
      that seems high. presumably if you disable anytime you can claim back the 80gb for recording normally thru planner???
      tony.

    5. #4
      plank's Avatar
      plank is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Nope it reserves 80gb for anytime, and you cant claim it back by turning it off.

      Sorry

      Dan

    6. #5
      StuMcBill's Avatar
      StuMcBill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Does Anytime Download automatically through your telephone line, or is it through the satellite connection?

      Don't fancy having all these programs I am never going to watch download willy nilly?

    7. #6
      pd.ryder's Avatar
      pd.ryder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stroud
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Cotswolds
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Is there absolutely no way at all to reclaim this 80Gb? I only have the Entertainment pack (ie no Movies or Sports) and a whole pile of the Anytime listings are programmes I can't actually watch.
      Really speaking, I don't want Anytime - I don't watch it and it eats my HDD so I can't record stuff I do want to watch.
      I've no objection to cutting wires, electrocuting small elves or zapping the whole thing with a Taser - anything would do

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Quote Originally Posted by StuMcBill View Post
      Does Anytime Download automatically through your telephone line, or is it through the satellite connection?

      Don't fancy having all these programs I am never going to watch download willy nilly?
      Nope Anytime downloads as a normal TV service. Each piece of content is played out 7 times in order to allow your box chance to pick it up. Its done around whatever you are recording yourself, if you are using your box everytime the content is playing out then the content never gets recorded. You don't lose out.
      The disk space is also reserved for future Sky things, not just Anytime. You bought a HD or Sky+ box for far less than its worth or costs Sky.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      StuMcBill's Avatar
      StuMcBill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      So that means it wont eat up my Broadband allowance then?

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Quote Originally Posted by StuMcBill View Post
      So that means it wont eat up my Broadband allowance then?
      Yes, That is correct, In fact, You dont even need to have your Sky Box connected to a phone line for the Anytime downloads.
      All the downloads are OTA (Over the Air) via the Satellite.

    11. #10
      StuMcBill's Avatar
      StuMcBill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Aberdeen, Scotland
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: anytime on tv - advice please

      Quote Originally Posted by Keiran2K8 View Post
      Yes, That is correct, In fact, You dont even need to have your Sky Box connected to a phone line for the Anytime downloads.
      All the downloads are OTA (Over the Air) via the Satellite.
      Thanks

      Do you get a full selection of programming to watch, or is it just some select programmes?

      Stewart

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION