Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Sky Anytime in System Tray....

    This is a discussion on Sky Anytime in System Tray.... within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I installed Sky Anytime yesterday, used to have it before, and there was an option not to have it start ...

    1. #1
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      I installed Sky Anytime yesterday, used to have it before, and there was an option not to have it start on booting the pc up. Now I cant find that option. I dont want it to start when my pc starts up. Is there anyway to stop this?

      Thank you.

      John.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Hi, can I ask, doesnt anybody know how to stop Sky anytime form starting when I start my Computer? Can somebody help please? Sorry to have to ask again.

      Thank you.

      John.

    4. #3
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Quote Originally Posted by jakewc2 View Post
      Hi, can I ask, doesnt anybody know how to stop Sky anytime form starting when I start my Computer? Can somebody help please? Sorry to have to ask again.

      Thank you.

      John.

      are you on XP or vista

    5. #4
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Hi, thank you for your reply.

      I'm running Windows XP SP2.

    6. #5
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Quote Originally Posted by jakewc2 View Post
      Hi, thank you for your reply.

      I'm running Windows XP SP2.
      click on the start button, and click on run, in the box type msconfig and hit enter, when the window opens up click on startup tap and untick skyanytime click ok and then reboot PC

      that should do it

    7. #6
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Ok, I'll give it a go, thank you.

    8. #7
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Quote Originally Posted by jakewc2 View Post
      Ok, I'll give it a go, thank you.
      dont forget you will need to reboot the PC for the settings to take effect,

      while you are there you might want to untick a few others will increase you boot up time.... up to you

    9. #8
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Hi, I went into msconfig, and the only thing I could see in there that had anything to do with Sky, was something called Sky Tel. I unchecked that, rebooted the system, and low and behold, Sky Anytime still shows in the system tray. I cant see anything else that has anything to do with Sky Anytime in there.

    10. #9
      Chaos66's Avatar
      Chaos66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSBEX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      201
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Quote Originally Posted by jakewc2 View Post
      Hi, I went into msconfig, and the only thing I could see in there that had anything to do with Sky, was something called Sky Tel. I unchecked that, rebooted the system, and low and behold, Sky Anytime still shows in the system tray. I cant see anything else that has anything to do with Sky Anytime in there.
      if you look in the second column on the startup tab it gives the path of the software starting up anything you dont recognise ????

    11. #10
      jakewc2's Avatar
      jakewc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Covent Garden
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Anytime in System Tray....

      Hi, thanks for your messages. that's all that in there that has anything to do with Sky. The only other thing that might be connected is Kontiki, I tried unchecking that too, and it still appears in the Sytem tray on Startup. So I have no idea what else there is left to uncheck.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION