Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

    This is a discussion on Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me? within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I'm getting Sky+ installed next week. I've only just heard of this 'Sky Anytime' thing. I've read I have to ...

    1. #1
      leamingtonspaceman's Avatar
      leamingtonspaceman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      I'm getting Sky+ installed next week. I've only just heard of this 'Sky Anytime' thing. I've read I have to have a box with a bigger HDD in it. Will my box have this 160gig drive? Are all Sky+ boxes now fitted with this as standard?

      And how does it work? Most threads on here seem to be about it running on a PC? It must run on the box too? How does this work though? Does it do it via the phoneline?

      Bit confused really.
      Last edited by leamingtonspaceman; 16-06-07 at 11:27 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      Hi,

      My box has an 80Gb HDD ( was installed a fee weeks ago) and it does 40 hours of TV , why are people now getting 80 hr boxes?

      anyway, mine works with anytime ( well it will) i have the anytime setup menu etc and my box number is one that will work with it.

      As far as i know its like a on demand channel - i assume it works like the normal TV where you choose and its brought down by satellite.

    4. #3
      leamingtonspaceman's Avatar
      leamingtonspaceman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      Quote Originally Posted by PeteC View Post
      Hi,

      My box has an 80Gb HDD ( was installed a fee weeks ago) and it does 40 hours of TV , why are people now getting 80 hr boxes?

      anyway, mine works with anytime ( well it will) i have the anytime setup menu etc and my box number is one that will work with it.

      As far as i know its like a on demand channel - i assume it works like the normal TV where you choose and its brought down by satellite.
      I think your box does have a 160gig drive but only 80gig shows...the other 80gig is 'hidden.'

      I'm just wanting to know if the 160gig box is now standard issue with a Sky+ install? And how do I guarantee to get a Pace or Thomson box as I've heard that the Amstrad ones are slow?
      Last edited by leamingtonspaceman; 16-06-07 at 11:43 AM.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      The Sky HD boxes have 160 gig in them as the HD channels take up tons of space, I get 80 hours of standard def TV but only 30 hours of HD on a HD box.

      Anyways to answer the original question you should get anytime on your new Sky+ box the only ones that don't are older ones with very small hard discs in.

      Your engineer should perform a box update as part of the installation to get the latest version of the software and then when the box isn't recording something or is switched off, you'll get programs downloaded automatically onto your "anytime" part of the drive, the bit that is used for pausing live TV.

      So far I have had the new film premiere downloaded to me 2 days before it's shown on Sky movies for the last month and on the HD box all the movies are delivered in HD even if there not being shown on a HD channel.

    6. #5
      leamingtonspaceman's Avatar
      leamingtonspaceman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      So what size HDD do the 'new' Sky+ boxes have then...not the HD ones, just the standard def ones?

      And can I specifically ask for a Pace or Thomson box? Are the Amstrad ones slower?

      Cheers for the replies so far gents

    7. #6
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      I had a new Pace Sky + box installed two weeks ago. You do not get a choice of box manufacturer, it all depends on what the installer has on his van. Talk nicely to him.
      The Sky installers seem to favour Pace rather than Uncle Alans.

      The boxes all have a 160Gb HDD formatted into two 80gb partitions.
      You only have access to one partition to record your programmes.
      After a couple of days mine updated itself to the autostandby feature and a red anytime button appeared on the planner menu, from there you can access the programmes that Sky choose to download to your box overnight, it takes a few more days to accumulate the current batch.


      You should be aware that you can only view those progrmmes that come from channels that you subscribe to.


    8. #7
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      yes it said to me about it taking a few days when i turned anytime on.

      its still not showing anything for me to access it with

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      And how does it work? Most threads on here seem to be about it running on a PC? It must run on the box too? How does this work though? Does it do it via the phoneline?
      Its all OTA (Over the Air), All it needs is your box connected up to the Satellite, Overnight (Usually Nights).

      The box "downloads" the programs to the 2nd Part of the Sky+ Drive, Each downloaded programme has a "Delete Date!" Not called the "Delete Date" but thats what it is, After that date, It is deleted and other programmes take its place, Its at that stage, Once they are downloaded you can keep them but copying them over to the 2nd Part of the Sky+ drive - The one you have control over.

      Anytime isnt an OOB (Out of Box) Service, It can take anything from 48 Hours to a Week from First USe, For the Update (Anytime & Auto Standby) to be downloaded to your Sky+.

    10. #9
      leamingtonspaceman's Avatar
      leamingtonspaceman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      Great help there guys. Just need to know if the current Amstrad boxes are anything to worry about?

    11. #10
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ being installed next week...will Sky Anytime work for me?

      well ive noticed it and i just tried it - it seems to be pretty much play on demand - i guess it's all been downloaded to the machine - or not is it POD?

      i notice you can record it too which is great

      not sure about sir alans boxes - ive had plenty amstrad and nothings ever gone wrong

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION