Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 63

    sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

    This is a discussion on sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by trevor Hi Have just discovered this splendid thread after running Sky Anytime successfully under Vista until the ...

    1. #31
      -mc-'s Avatar
      -mc- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Quote Originally Posted by trevor View Post
      Hi

      Have just discovered this splendid thread after running Sky Anytime successfully under Vista until the software insisted on automatically upgrading and then the XP issue started

      Having followed DPSWatson's excellent link and downloaded the modified msi file I end up with an error message "1: Failed to install ISKernel files. Make sure you have appropriate privileges on this machine"

      As the only user on Vista Home Premium edition I am shown with admin privileges

      Any clues on this issue?

      Turn off User Account Control and it will install


      .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Dub's Avatar
      Dub
      Dub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      This is what i did to get it working.
      After trying and failing to extract the files properley.

      THE Failed to install ISKernel files issue is due to no .NET files, i got the same error before i installed the .NET from FurryPotatoes link.

      1. download the modded .exe from DPSwatsons post. (do not try to change,it is already fixed)
      2. download .NET from FurryPotatoes post.
      3. install .NET before anything else.
      4. install the fixed .exe you downloaded (as admin) this should now install flawlessly.
      5. download the DRM update when prompted (use I.E, firefox wont work)
      6. run Sky Anytime (it should now send you to the login screen)
      7. Log in and away you go (thanks to the excellent work from the guys here)


      If you start UAC you can set the start .exe to run as admin (right click icon,tick box at bottom saying always run as admin), then you can turn off UAC, it will then start as admin everytime.
      Last edited by Dub; 15-06-07 at 12:01 PM.

    4. #33
      trevor's Avatar
      trevor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01977
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Quote Originally Posted by -mc- View Post
      Turn off User Account Control and it will install


      .
      Many thanks MC it worked first time with this advice and is now up and running.

      I did however check first that .net v1.1 was installed OK (per the advice from Dub) - which it was.

      Sky Anytime is now back in working order and has retained my library

      Thanks again for sorting me out

    5. #34
      furrypotato's Avatar
      furrypotato is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Well it seems that we are all working this out slowly and getting a full fix here.

      I was thinking that someone should write out a full fix with links to all the needed downloads (Including fixed .msi) and then see if we can get it made into a sticky on the forum ?
      Anyone here know any of the admin of the board so we could get this done ?

      Dylan

      PS _ I've installed ORCA now too and fixed the .msi file that way- thanks DPSWatson.

    6. #35
      dpswatson's Avatar
      dpswatson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      I left the .NET launch condition in the MSI so that the error remained. Without it, anyone without .NET installed would not know if they did or didn't have it and therefore would try to run it and I wasn't sure what sort of crash you would get running Sky Anytime without .net installed.

      I suppose I could have rewritten the error message but this thread now has all the info.
      I have had problems running the ISKernal.MSI file on its own which is why I didn't upload it.

      Any other questions, just ask!

    7. #36
      furrypotato's Avatar
      furrypotato is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Right Guys. I've been in touch with the site admin and they are happy to create a sticky post if we produce a full guide to installing.

      So to start it off and make it easier I've created a .exe install file from the .msi
      This means that if you have UAC switched on will will still install- it comes up and asks your permission first.

      I've uploaded it here :

      skyanytime.exe


      I'd appreciate it if one of you could download it and test it to make sure it work ok.

      If someone can confirm it works ok then I can start work on a new post that gives full instructions and downloads .

      dylan
      Last edited by furrypotato; 16-06-07 at 10:57 PM.

    8. #37
      -mc-'s Avatar
      -mc- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Good idea, meanwhile here are the links to :



      DRM Update




      .NET Framework Version 1.1 Redistributable Package



      .

    9. #38
      joshrulez2's Avatar
      joshrulez2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Ive followed everything here, and when installing sky anytime the install just gets stuck, and doesn't move from there.
      Edit: Ok i've got it to install now.
      Last edited by joshrulez2; 18-06-07 at 12:39 PM.

    10. #39
      gavinlew's Avatar
      gavinlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01454
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 20mb
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Hi all,

      I can install the Dot net upgrades, then I goto install skyanytime.exe

      The installer runs, it completes then the InstallShield thrashes the hard drive and eventually crashes with "Windows Installer has encountered an error"

      When you try to run Skyanytime from the desktop shortcut , a popup appears with "Application Error" and the application stops running.

      I am thinking along the lines of the Sky software doesn't like living on a PC with other Kontiki installations , as I use 4OD.

      Cheers,

      Gavin

    11. #40
      gavinlew's Avatar
      gavinlew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01454
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Media 20mb
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      I think the problem lies with the Kontiki service that both products require.

      After the Sky Install, 4od failed to work so I have now removed both products off the system.

      However the Sky Install still crashes Windows Installer and generates an error upon bootup.

     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-05-08, 10:45 PM
    2. 19-04-08, 09:28 AM
    3. 12-03-08, 08:49 PM
    4. 01-02-08, 08:30 PM
    5. 09-12-07, 12:31 PM
    6. 08-12-07, 12:08 AM
    7. 06-12-07, 07:50 AM
    8. 05-11-07, 12:48 AM
    9. 09-10-07, 03:09 PM
    10. 21-08-07, 08:26 PM
    11. 16-08-07, 12:30 PM
    12. 12-08-07, 12:33 PM
    13. 12-08-07, 12:05 PM
    14. 25-06-07, 01:50 PM
    15. 25-06-07, 01:48 PM
    16. 24-06-07, 09:23 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION