Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 63

    sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

    This is a discussion on sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by furrypotato Some of the people who tried the fixed installer I made have had problems with it ...

    1. #11
      mini me's Avatar
      mini me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      bracknell berkshire
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Quote Originally Posted by furrypotato View Post
      Some of the people who tried the fixed installer I made have had problems with it

      Well just to let you know that worked a treat for me. Anytime is now working just fine. am downloading and watching movies right now thanks furrypotato



      Last edited by mini me; 11-06-07 at 11:49 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dpswatson's Avatar
      dpswatson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Hi everyone,
      Just thought you might want to know that there is a slightly easier way to edit the MSI files than the one listed (not meaning to step on anyone's toes).

      I thought I had posted it before but obviously not.

      Extract the MSI as described in the other post (or run setup and wait for the error. BEFORE clicking ok, goto C:\USERS\<name>\AppData\Local\Temp and there will be a folder there with all the temp files - including the MSI.)

      1. Google for a little MS app called ORCA. Download and install.

      2. Copy the MSI to another folder and click ok in the installer to close setup (this will then delete the temp files)

      3. When ORCA installed, right-click on the MSI and go to Open with Orca.

      4. Orca is like a simple database. Scroll to LaunchConditions on the left pane and click. On the right, right-click the newly appeared "Windows XP" launch condition and click DELETE. Don't touch any other setting, just save and close and then run the MSI.

      You may also need to manually run the .NET files for setup to run. (This depends on whether another prog has installed it for you). To do this simply run the .net installation files from the TEMP directory. (If they have been deleted, then extract them again)

      This method works with ANY msi file that has a launch condition. Beware that this only allows the installer to install the software and still does not mean it will actually work. It will obviously allow you to install on earlier OS's. Not advised.

      Hope that helps.

    4. #13
      furrypotato's Avatar
      furrypotato is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      THanks DpSWatson,

      I might try that myself too. I am only a bungling amateur in this field :-)
      There are a few people who have had no luck using my install files- do you think that could be because of missing .net installation ?

      Dylan

    5. #14
      -mc-'s Avatar
      -mc- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      After a lot of installs / uninstalls / DRM updates etc I `ve got it working, so many thank Dylan, Im not sure what I did that finally got it working though



      .

    6. #15
      Dub's Avatar
      Dub
      Dub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Hello all.

      I'm having a LOT of trouble getting this to work.
      Dylan, i tried your method about 100x with no luck.
      This line 'InstallAware Set Variable VersionNT 501' does not appear when i try to FIND, the only part like that is this 'Set Variable VersionNT To 501'
      I tried everthing to the letter and it all installed ok but when i try to run the program it says "there was a problem opening skyanytime"
      So i have pm'd you for your fixed exe to see if that works.

      I also tried dpswatson's method, again with no luck.
      I also did this method to the letter but when i open the MSI with ORCA i can't see any line appear like this: "Windows XP" launch condition

      Could someone possibly post screenshots so i can visualy see what i need to be doing? Or could dpswatson please send me your fixed exe also.

      Oh, did you guys do this with vista UAC turned on or off??

      Thanks very much.
      P.s sky need to make a vista version because in a year vista will be mainstream and xp will be "old skool".
      Last edited by Dub; 14-06-07 at 11:59 AM.

    7. #16
      dpswatson's Avatar
      dpswatson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      I will get some screenshots for you either tonight or tomorrow night.


      I had no end of problems installing when .net wasn't on the system. Once the relavent .net stuff was installed, Anytime ran and installed with no problems.

      Sometimes I got a Media player error when viewing videos, but clicking ok and ignoring it seemed to load the video anyway. (some bug in wmp11 i think)

    8. #17
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      So Sky are saying that they are not supporting Vista?

      My wife's laptop came from Dell and we cannot install XP on it as Dell get real snotty if you install another OS on it that it wasn't supplied with and I can't be bothered with all that file extracting thing.

      I wonder when Sky will support it? Probably 6 months after MS stop supporting Vista.

    9. #18
      Dub's Avatar
      Dub
      Dub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      After i installed anytime after following dylan's method i have a blank icon representing skyanytime, when i click it it says there was a problem opeining anytime. So it is possible i need the .net installing.

      Thanks dpswatson. Look forward to seeing the screenies. I dont suppose you could pm me or host your fixed exe please?
      I am in the process of installing ms virtual pc 2007 aswell,not just for sky but i will find other uses too. And I am going to have a play with Microsoft Application Compatibility Tool 5.0
      I never used it before but from what i ahve read it might be usefull.

      Sky say they find XP to be the right platform for the Anytime. But from what i gather Vista is supposed to be geared more towards multimedia and entertainment isnt it? So would it not be more suitable?
      Also in the system requirements it states you need a NEW or almost new pc. Most NEW pcs have vista installed.

      Pull yer finger out SKY..
      Last edited by Dub; 14-06-07 at 04:41 PM.

    10. #19
      -mc-'s Avatar
      -mc- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      [QUOTE=Dub;79302]After i installed anytime after following dylan's method i have a blank icon representing skyanytime, when i click it it says there was a problem opeining anytime. So it is possible i need the .net installing.


      The blank icon is not a problem (you can always replace that later), but you will need .NET Framework Version 1.1 and .NET Framework 1.1 Service Pack 1 installed first.Then install the modified file as Administrator, and if you have UAC turned on you will need to right click the icon, and click "run as administrator" to start the program. If you have UAC turned off you dont need the last step, just click the icon.


      Hope that helps


      .

    11. #20
      Dub's Avatar
      Dub
      Dub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky anytime requires that your computer is running windows xp

      Thanks MC i will try that as soon as i get home.Seems it may be the problem. I will post the results later.

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 25-05-08, 10:45 PM
    2. 19-04-08, 09:28 AM
    3. 12-03-08, 08:49 PM
    4. 01-02-08, 08:30 PM
    5. 09-12-07, 12:31 PM
    6. 08-12-07, 12:08 AM
    7. 06-12-07, 07:50 AM
    8. 05-11-07, 12:48 AM
    9. 09-10-07, 03:09 PM
    10. 21-08-07, 08:26 PM
    11. 16-08-07, 12:30 PM
    12. 12-08-07, 12:33 PM
    13. 12-08-07, 12:05 PM
    14. 25-06-07, 01:50 PM
    15. 25-06-07, 01:48 PM
    16. 24-06-07, 09:23 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION