Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

    This is a discussion on Anyone use SkyByBroadband? within the Sky Go forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; If you do apparently it could be using valuable resource on your machine and broadband connection according to this! Serious ...

    1. #1
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      If you do apparently it could be using valuable resource on your machine and broadband connection according to this! Serious issues with Sky by Broadband service The PC Doctor’s blog


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      So whatever you download could be uploaded to other users, by sky, without you knowing about it. So Sky, in effect, would be helping themselves to a, possibly very large, chunk of your usage limit and charging you for the pleasure...

      ...and "all the uninstall information is currently unavailable"....

      Very naughty...

      (I had to put all the pirates in for that one)
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      I think we discussed this elsewhere and this was the very reason that I un-installed this service from my computer, added to that I could not get it to work correctly but I refuse to let my computer have this peer to peer software on it and used in this mannar.

    5. #4
      DWho's Avatar
      DWho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WOOLSTON
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      Thank you for pointing this out I have had this installed since sky first released it and was totally unaware that they were using my comp for peer to peer...

      I am uninstalling this as soon as I finish this post....

      Plus at the end of the day I I can record the films I wish to watch and watch then when I want to..

    6. #5
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      same here

      i got sky movies o i could do this when away from home - we have sky in our Motorhome but this would be better.

      Anyway all gone now and system cleaned - im going to reformat just to make sure

      All sky anytime PC should be regarded as is a waste of 50mb!
      Last edited by PeteC; 09-04-07 at 11:41 AM.

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      Sky Anytime isnt a bad app in terms of what it offers, Its the service/tools behind it which turns people away.

    8. #7
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone use SkyByBroadband?

      Well ive decided to keep it - afterall im getting cable tommorow so wont have any limits

      However something i had discovered by doing nothing but what i normally do. If you set the films to save on the desktop it does not seem to upload anything - only seems to do it if you leave them in the default folder.

      So far i've got 9 films, even 2 PPV and not one byte has been uploaded by the software

      Also i found that the app i use to remove DRM on music files ( soundtaxi) does the same for films to i will just convert them and then delete them..

      peace...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION