Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

    This is a discussion on I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003 within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've filled in everything as per instructions but when I check through the More Settings tabs after everything is included, ...

    1. #1
      suttonsue's Avatar
      suttonsue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      I've filled in everything as per instructions but when I check through the More Settings tabs after everything is included, the connection tab snarls up and I get an error message which I can't copy as it's sooo lengthy The signature is
      Appname outlook.exe, appvo 11.0.8217.0 appslong 480f9529 fdebug0 offset01b6c838.

      It worked ok with Virginmedia but I did have problems getting into IE with VM and I was told that VM connection did have problems with microsoft updates. I found that I could get into IE only at specific times of the day!

      I'm mentioning this because I don't know whether IE and pop mail are linked in any way. If they are I don't know why pop mail worked with VM but I can't get past the error message with the Sky set up. I have set it up in my Skymail settings to forward to pop and smtp. I have Norton Internet Security Suite if that helps solve me problem. Otherwise I'll be sticking to my googlemail account!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      I had to reconfigure mine last week, after my daughter somehow infected the machine. I use Outlook 2003, and got it working fine once I remembered to add @sky.com to my username! Without seeing your settings, it's difficult to help you, but I can confirm that there is no conflict between Sky mail and Outlook 2003. It might be worth checking to see if there is an update to Outlook. If not, my guess would be Norton, I can't help with this as I use McAfee (although it didn't catch last weeks virus)

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      For the original poster, thats an error message for the software, nothing to do with Sky or settings, your software install is damaged and needs repairing.

    5. #4
      suttonsue's Avatar
      suttonsue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      Thank you Jessie Lou. I can understand the corruption on my old pc but I've also tried to set up skymail through outlook 2003 which I installed on my new laptop this week plus updates and windows mail, failing that. Neither of which have been successful. It's so frustrating and both on different operating systems.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      Have you followed the instructions on this tutorial-
      Sky User - Help and Support for Sky and Sky Broadband - Outlook 2003 Settings For Sky Email

      Maybe Paul Paul should say he is not Jessie Lou, unless he is of course

      Try clicking the Jessie Lou link Sue, you might see something you would like.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      suttonsue's Avatar
      suttonsue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      sorry about that. Many people seem to sign their name at the bottom which has no resemblence to their nickname.

      Anyway back to the question. Yes I've done all that but on testing I am repeatedly asked for my password for the smtp address and then get failure of the test and I have no idea why. It recognises incoming but not outgoing.

    8. #7
      suttonsue's Avatar
      suttonsue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birmingham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm going round in circles trying to configure Outlook2003

      Have gone down all the thread that you gave and came to the main problem, the automatic id input that doesn't put in @sky.com. As soon as I did that it all works. thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION