Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

    This is a discussion on Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, been very greatful for the skyuser smtp gateway - but having been given an Apple I Touch I can't ...

    1. #1
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      521
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      Hi,
      been very greatful for the skyuser smtp gateway - but having been given an Apple I Touch I can't seem to get it to add the server - just wonder if anyone else has had more success? I hangs at 'verifying smtp account information' final step. (Iignored the certificate check)

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      If anyone can answer this, Tom could.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      Hi Meteosat,

      Can you explain briefly, what account your setting up and what gateways etc? Have you seen the tutorials in my sig?

      The skyuser gateways are these for use on your sky email accounts or other ones?
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    5. #4
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      521
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      Quote Originally Posted by HSNetwork View Post
      Hi Meteosat,

      Can you explain briefly, what account your setting up and what gateways etc? Have you seen the tutorials in my sig?

      The skyuser gateways are these for use on your sky email accounts or other ones?
      Hi Tom,
      thanks for responding.
      The context is I have a number of domain e-mail accounts, a few of which have smtp servers, but a couple don't. By using the skyuser gateway I can use all the accounts for smtp.

      The accounts are all pop ones, so your reference to IMAP in the Itouch pdf isn't relevant for me. I have on my main computer an e-mail and newsreader called Turnpike which copes fine with the settings of the free smtp server, but on the I touch I can't get past the spinning circle of 'verifying SMTP account information'

      Is this helpful?
      Cheers

    6. #5
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      Right,

      That does help in understanding your setup. Pop shouldnt be a problem, but the sending is. It sounds as if you have either entered incorrect details for the smtp server or there is a slight setting missing (eg "Requires authentication").

      Best bit to do perhaps would be for me to obtain an smtp account from NR so I can replicate this and see where things are falling over. When it comes to authentication for smtp there are a couple of options available and they arent always immediately obvious as to their location.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    7. #6
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      521
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Setting up an Itouch with the smtp gateway

      Quote Originally Posted by HSNetwork View Post
      Right,

      Best bit to do perhaps would be for me to obtain an smtp account from NR so I can replicate this and see where things are falling over. When it comes to authentication for smtp there are a couple of options available and they arent always immediately obvious as to their location.
      Hold the front page Tom!
      I have this minute succeeded - boldly gone where no memnber of my family has before! I deleted accounts and started over, and this time - for whatever reason - it eventually gave me authnication and I have posted via the I touch.

      many many thanks for your swift responses

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION