Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

    This is a discussion on can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi first post on here, nice to meet you all. I am having a problem with my google mail toolbar ...

    1. #1
      shambolic's Avatar
      shambolic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      hi first post on here, nice to meet you all.
      I am having a problem with my google mail toolbar plug-in. i have been using it to access my sky mail ever since sky went over to google but yesterday it stopped working. I can still access my google mail account through it but the sky account sends me to a log in page and then if I put my password etc. in it goes to:
      Proxy Error
      The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.
      The proxy server could not handle the request GET /amserver/SSORedirect/metaAlias/sky.

      Reason: Error reading from remote server

      IBM_HTTP_Server Server at id.sky.com Port 80
      I can still access mail through the sky.com site
      anyone else having these problems. Have sky changed something?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      i assume this is the toolbar for FF? if so, i guess its an issue regarding the toolbar itself if you can get in to your email via the portal...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      shambolic's Avatar
      shambolic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      thing is it has been working ever since we went over to google and is working with my google account still. anyway I shall check it and try to reinstall

    5. #4
      shambolic's Avatar
      shambolic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01206
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      I definitely think they have added another layer to the access. I never used to get a login page. Anyone confirm this?

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      On Gmail I get the login page ever so often and now there appears to be this bar that loads before I can get to my mail, that never used to be there before.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      I think there has definately been a change made on the Google end of the system as I'm getting the "bar" too. There was also an issue with FF access the webmail at one point during the week but that was supposedly resolved so I'm guessing the guys at G are making changes.

    8. #7
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      There was also an issue with FF access the webmail at one point during the week but that was supposedly resolved
      Are you talking about accessing Sky mail here because if so I use Firefox got a load of errors during the week.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      Yep thats the one, only impacted FF users for some reason.

    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: can no longer log-in through google/firefox plug-in

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      only impacted FF users for some reason.
      Very odd, but at least it was sorted fairly sharpish.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION