Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

    This is a discussion on Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :) within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by darrenlewis the first thing i asked was "can i use my existing pop3 accoutn and will you ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      Quote Originally Posted by darrenlewis View Post
      the first thing i asked was "can i use my existing pop3 accoutn and will you be able to give me the settings to do so, including smtp" to which they replied "yes of course". So, i then sign a contract and its not the case at all.
      Errrr, yep. Sky allow you to use your existing pop3 account with another provider and errr yep Sky allow you to use your old providers smtp settings. Sky cant control whether your old ISP will continue to allow you to use those with Sky.

      you also asked sky to give you their settings and errrr yep, they have and those details are readily available from sky's help pages and work fine.

      Sky is a no thrills service and hence why it's cheap, but they have done everything that you asked for.

      now the real question is...... did you ask Sky the right questions.........?

      I'll ignore the unrequired dig at the start of your post.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      darrenlewis's Avatar
      darrenlewis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      At the end of the day mate you can spout all you want about SMTP and use fancy words but it boils down to this :-

      1. I CANNOT USE MY EXISTING POP3 ACCOUNT WITH SKY

      2. Sky have todl me themselves that they have blocked this service.

      3 . Sky were unable to help me or resolve the issue depite spending 8 hours on the phone.

      4. Im left paying for a service i was told they offered but clearly they dont.

      5. I pay for a broadband service which UNLIKE NEARLY ALL OTHERS wont allow you to use there SMTP.

      P.S I notice you avoided the question "do you work for sky or something"?

      End of !

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      1 - have you checked with your old provider that they let you collect email from their POP3 account using a Sky connection - you've avoided the question
      2 - really, okay. Find that difficult to believe, but if thats what they say then thats what they say
      3 - as per 2
      4 - as per 2
      5 - Total rubbish, i suggest you re-read this thread and all the others about smtp on sky (or is your wording of point 5 wrong)
      6 - Yep I am actually Rupert Murdoch who posts on here to uphold sky's image. Sorry mate but i find your comment here pretty disappointing. Does it make any difference if I do work for sky or not? Point 5 is rubbish whether i do or dont work for sky and my original response purely explained the situation.

      Perhaps you could start a thread entitled 'Is anyone collecting BTInternet email thru sky' to see if anyone else is successfully doing what you arent.

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      a quick search of SkyUseer for BTInternet brings many thread incl;

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...my-domain.html

      and in this one there is a user on BTInternet, so maybe you could PM him and see if he still collects pop3 from BT?

      I still collect POP3 from Orange using Sky, but then again I am rupert and get special treatment.

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      you can cause i am!!!

      you CAN'T however, use Sky's smtp server to send non-sky emails as it'll replace the reply address to '*** on behalf of ***@sky.com'

      if you have access to another smtp server though you can use it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      you can cause i am!!!

      you CAN'T however, use Sky's smtp server to send non-sky emails as it'll replace the reply address to '*** on behalf of ***@sky.com'

      if you have access to another smtp server though you can use it...
      Which is exactly what we've all been talking about

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      i know, just backing you up
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      Quote Originally Posted by darrenlewis View Post
      Now dont tell me its coincidence!
      Hey maybe it actually is thinkbroadband :: Update from BT Retail on BT Yahoo! issues

    10. #19
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      6 - Yep I am actually Rupert Murdoch
      Hi dad! I thought that was you…

    11. #20
      Jockdownsouth's Avatar
      Jockdownsouth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using your existing pop3 account to send email - 1 Solution Here :)

      Newbie here so please be kind. - As an existing Sky TV customer I was about to sign up for Sky broadband but before doing so sent them a few online queries including POP & smtp using non-Sky email addresses. The reply wasn't totally clear, which led me to this forum. Perhaps I'm being a bit dense so can I just clarify the following?
      1. I should still be able to download from 3rd party POP servers such as Yahoo as per reddwarfcrew's post on 1st April re his Orange account.
      2. Sky have withdrawn the ability to use their smtp servers to send email from a Yahoo etc email address but this site offers its users a free smtp server and the creator of this thread, Darren Lewis, has also come up with a solution. So I should be able to send Yahoo emails from Outlook Express through my Sky connection, withouut Sky replacing the "from" address.
      3. I'm not clear about authenticated smtp addresses. I have a couple of personal email addresses I got by purchasing domain names cheaply through Namesco. The idea was to have email addreses I could use with any ISP or when roaming. For these I use the smtp address smtp.hosts.co.uk and tick the "server requires authentication" box. The Namesco FAQ's state "Namesco Authenticated SMTP may not be available with your ISP. You should check with your ISP whether they block default port 25 (SMTP) access through their network before purchasing Authenticated SMTP, or allow access to external SMTP servers through their network. If they block port 25, or prevent external access, this service will not be available to you." If you've got this far my question is, Do Sky block port 25 or prevent external access?

      Thanks for your patience.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION