Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 67

    Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

    This is a discussion on Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky? within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi moleman thanks for replying to my problem. Yes I am aware I'm on an IMAP thread as it is ...

    1. #41
      MicroChef's Avatar
      MicroChef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swanage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Hi moleman thanks for replying to my problem.

      Yes I am aware I'm on an IMAP thread as it is IMAP I'm trying to get working

      Its just been a bit of a frustrating 3 Days trying to get this dam thing working

      I must have read 100+ posts on various sites trying to solve this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Works fine in Outlook 2010, although I only tested it with one account I use POP normally
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #43
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      As IWNTE says it does definately work, although I stopped using it as it creates too many duplicate folders.
      I would stop trying Oulook until you can get the "unlock" working.

      Can you answer the following questions:

      Are you using only your username without @sky.com when trying UnlockCaptcha?

      Have you changed your password?

      If the answer to the above are both yes then it is likely that the Sky and Google servers have got the passwords out of sync.

      You can sometimes correct this yourself by following the lost password link.

      Otherwise you will need to call sky to get the passwords resynced.

    5. #44
      MicroChef's Avatar
      MicroChef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swanage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      SOLVED IT!

      All the settings were correct which made checking and rechecking all settings frustrating to say the least.

      The Solution for me was to set up a new Sky mail account which at first did not work but tried it again today and it works without a problem, the original account still refuses Login/Password, the only difference between them is a space in the username.

      So if anyone else is suffering the Login/Password error, try a new Sky mail account, worked for me

    6. #45
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Are you sure it was a space, not an underscore?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #46
      MicroChef's Avatar
      MicroChef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swanage
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Are you sure it was a space, not an underscore?
      Your right it was an underscore not a space that was different, my mistake sorry.

      Still don't think that caused the problem, I more inclined to think that sometimes a Sky Email account details get corrupted and can't sync properly with outlook.

    8. #47
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Placing a space where an underscore should be is a common mistake to make for the unwary, that's why I mentioned it.

      As with anything else to do with computers, if you put the wrong character in the wrong position in just one part, that can be the cause of your problem.

      You've got a working email now, so all should be fine now.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #48
      skymaneater's Avatar
      skymaneater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01685
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      hello new to forum today.
      cant get my email to open any ideas?gives me 1 sentence for each message.
      when click on it want open message why,ok before?
      tried to merge contacts with windows live mail no joy yet .
      heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp.can only delete messages thats all
      Last edited by skymaneater; 19-03-11 at 10:09 PM. Reason: editing

    10. #49
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      Wow, what a confusing first post!

      I think we will need some more info before we can make any suggestions.

      Are you accessing your email via web or mail client?

      If client, which one?

      As this thread is about IMAP are you using that or POP?

      Any error messages?

    11. #50
      skymaneater's Avatar
      skymaneater is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01685
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anyone got IMAP to work with Sky?

      using sky email which i cant open it,o0nly get first sentence of message no more.
      tried switching&merging both with windows live mail no joy there.
      get failed at server for sky a/c.but merged hotmail a/c ok.
      tried imap&pop no joy.yet.for sky a/c

     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION