Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    "550 relay not permitted" - help

    This is a discussion on "550 relay not permitted" - help within the Sky Email and Portal Log-in forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys I am having problems sending email through Microsoft Outlook (2007). I can receive emails ok just not send. ...

    1. #1
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      "550 relay not permitted" - help

      Hi guys
      I am having problems sending email through Microsoft Outlook (2007). I can receive emails ok just not send. When I send an email, it sends but I then get an immediate undeliverable email saying "550 relay not permitted".

      I have just seen the threads about the changes (to Google), could it be something to do with that? I am using the original settings, i.e. pop.sky.com and smtp.sky.com. Surely if I had been moved to the new "google" email system my incoming mail would not work.

      Would really appreciate some help.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      Are you sending from home? The relay error normally means you are trying to send an email from either the wrong SMTP address or the wrong location - i.e. sky email will only work when you are at the location at which you have sky BB installed.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    4. #3
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      Hi, thanks for the reply.

      Yes I am sending it from home. Current SMTP address I am using is "smtp.sky.com". I will try the new google one tonight after work.

      An interesting point though, in Microsoft Outlook 2007, when I click on the test account button (in accounts) it fails on smtp.sky.com. But, if I change the smtp to "mail.sky.com", the test works but I still get the same undeliverable email when sending.

    5. #4
      davewales's Avatar
      davewales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Thinking of getting max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      Make sure you are not trying to forward an email you receive from another provider - for example I am still able to collect my old plusnet email, but if I try to forward this it will try to send on plusnets smtp which is not available and produce the error.

      Also make sure sky is your default email account if you have more than on set up.

      Hope I make sense!

      Dave

      PS in outlook 2007 it says at the top of the email which smtp address is going to be used

    6. #5
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      Hi

      I have 3 email accounts, all are with Sky. I have tried changing the pop and smtp to pop.tools.sky.com and smtp.tools.sky.com and still does not work.

      I have tried forwarding an existing email and even creating a new one - both give the same error.


    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      you know you dont just change the servers? you have to change the ports they run on too...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      garrymum's Avatar
      garrymum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      I tried the original settings in Outlook Express (pop.sky.com and smtp.sky.com) and I can send emails fine. Just Outlook 2007 which I am having trouble with.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: "550 relay not permitted" - help

      hmmmm....ive got google mail (non-sky) set up on my outlook 2007 and it works fine - also worked ok on outlook 2003 so not really sure where the issue lies...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION