Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 2 Post By Scubbie

    What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

    This is a discussion on What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC? within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Out of the 3 possible choices: BTW "Standard" = Openreach "Speed" BTW "Stable" = Openreach "Standard" BTW "Superstable" = Openreach ...

    1. #1
      Hoolay88's Avatar
      Hoolay88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Out of the 3 possible choices:

      BTW "Standard" = Openreach "Speed"

      BTW "Stable" = Openreach "Standard"
      BTW "Superstable" = Openreach "Stable"

      Just wanted to check. Hopefully someone from sky can reply

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      tommy45's Avatar
      tommy45 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCSOU
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Quote Originally Posted by Hoolay88 View Post
      Out of the 3 possible choices:

      BTW "Standard" = Openreach "Speed"

      BTW "Stable" = Openreach "Standard"
      BTW "Superstable" = Openreach "Stable"

      Just wanted to check. Hopefully someone from sky can reply

      Thanks
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...each-fttc.html Unless they have changed which they select at order time since the date in that older thread which seems to be the only info available on here regarding which GEA FTTC DLM profile they chose , If it's the STABLE option i wonder why , as other isp's choose the SPEED option
      <a href=http://www.speedtest.net/result/754463629.png target=_blank>http://www.speedtest.net/result/754463629.png</a>

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to tommy45 For This Useful Post:

      die5el302 (08-08-14)

    5. #3
      Hoolay88's Avatar
      Hoolay88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      if that is the case then i think i may go with Zen rather than sky.

      Unless the fiber pro features that they have been talking about recently that they will add to the package includes the ability to change profile....although i doubt this

    6. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,397
      Thanks
      409
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Thanks tommy45 - I couldn't find that post when I looked for it earlier!

      Line profile change is a "not yet available" feature for SFUP. There's no timescale for when it will be so nor any further details of what it will be.

      No doubt you have seen the thread on tbb discussing this topic with reference to Zen?
      http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/zen...fpart=all&vc=1
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Just wanted to check. Hopefully someone from sky can reply
      You will not get an official reply from Sky on this forum, for that you will have to go to the Official Sky Help forum.

      From reading the TB thread it looks like the Zen bods themselves are sure of what they use, BTW Standard or BTO Standard, speed and stable respectively.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      As speedyrite has correctly pointed out, currently the choice of Line Profiles is not currently available on the SFUP product. However it is the stated intention that there will be a choice on the SFUP product soon.

      It is currently assumed that the choices will be along the lines of 'standard', 'stable' or 'speed' but we don't actually know.

      Sky are currently in the process of updating the software in the exchange kit.
      speedyrite and Angel_Rex like this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #7
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Sadly after reading the pro section of sky's forum I have concluded "soon" can mean anything really. Its a bit stupid that they cannot even offer an estimated date.

      Some customers of fiber pro managed to get the sky pro rep's to manually change the profile with openreach but now those same rep's are suggesting new requests would be refused.

      So noone here has any idea which DLM profile is ordered on new installations?

      All 3 profiles start wide open, so maximum speed possible for the line at 6db snrm and on fast path (or g.inp for hauwei cabs).
      The difference between the 3 profiles is the thresholds for disconnections and MTBE required for the DLM to take stability action, stability action is one off either applying interleaving or banding the line (sync speed cap), regardless of any action DLM takes, the snrm target is always 6db on FTTC.

      Generally I think these figures are still right but is possible they have now been outdated by changes.

      Stable - 720 ES a day will make DLM take action to stabilise the line. or 5 disconnections a day.
      Standard 1440 ES a day or 10 disconnections a day.
      Speed 2880 ES a day or 20 disconnections a day.

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Sky use the 'Stable' profile for all new Fibre connections.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #9
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: What DLM profile do sky chose for their FTTC?

      Wow thats bad, they seem a bit paranoid about line instability.

      Talktalk use standard

      plusnet,BT, aaisp, zen all use speed.

      Will definitely be bugging the pro support team for a profile change after I am migrated.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION