Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    call centre nightmare regarding DLM

    This is a discussion on call centre nightmare regarding DLM within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Little worried as i had to reset my router last night, i was online gaming and my connection kept dropping ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Little worried as i had to reset my router last night, i was online gaming and my connection kept dropping so i reset and now my upload has dropped
      Was your connection actually dropping from the Internet, or was it simply your wireless that was dropping?

      Avoid booting your router during the training period, you have a very good connection and it would be a shame to spoil it by upsetting the DLM training for the sake of a few hours gaming. A bit of patience now will pay dividends in the future.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      bbeweel (19-04-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      bbeweel's Avatar
      bbeweel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CT118QY 01843
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Ramsgate
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      well today is the tenth day since activasion and my router has reset once in the whole time , i appreciate DLM can last up to two weeks but i do not hold much hope that my connection will improve any more even tho it is capable of more.

      Stats remain the same as last post.

    5. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Good morning.

      I believe a call to Sky is in order then.

      Do ask some fetching questions such as:

      * Has DLM completed on my line?
      * Are there a large number of CRC errors showing?
      * I believe that I should be able to get considerably more from my connection, do you agree?

      With your attenuation, you should get similar speeds, if not slightly better than, my own. The maximum that Sky will manually connect at is 20,000kbps for the download speed at the moment. Your upload should also connect at above 1,000kbps.

      since you are a gamer, i would also be inclined to ask for a Gamer Profile if there are no significant errors on your line.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bbeweel (25-04-11)

    7. #14
      bbeweel's Avatar
      bbeweel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CT118QY 01843
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Ramsgate
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      The figures have changed but only ever so slightly, the noise margin has lowered from 14.5 to 14.1

      Connection Speed 13307 kbps 928 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 6.7 db
      Noise Margin 14.1 db 8.5 db

      I am concerned that if i ring Sky the call centre advisor's within the broadband department will not have a clue what i am talking about just like last time in my OP.

    8. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Such a small change in your noise margin is acceptable and means very little.

      Depending on the time of day, mine can change from 6.5-7.2dB.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #16
      bbeweel's Avatar
      bbeweel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CT118QY 01843
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Ramsgate
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Your connection details
      Line connection testing completed on 19/04/2011
      Download Speed
      Your connection has been set to a download speed of up to
      13.0Mb (13312Kb)
      Upload Speed
      Your connection has been set to an upload speed of up to
      1.3Mb (1312Kb)

      My line was activated on the 13th and dlm completed on the 19th with it only resetting once in the whole period, do you think me turning the router off on the 19th caused the dlm to stop ?

      I will attempt to ring Sky but i do not hold much hope as the staff seem to have no technical knowledge.

    10. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      If you still have that high noise margin, Sky should be able to improve your speed. Just tell them you think DLM has left your speed too low. Don't get the idea that all Sky help are useless, there are a great many who are very good at their job. Tier 1 are muzzled by being forced to use a laid down script which they must follow, even if they know what they are doing is no help. If you manage to get passed to the CST, you will be fixed in minutes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #18
      bbeweel's Avatar
      bbeweel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CT118QY 01843
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Ramsgate
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Nope, just got off the phone to those very helpfull people at Sky and i am being told that 13meg is the best they can do, which i do not believe, and that the dlm was carried out correctly. I do not know what else to do . I get the impression that the person on the phone thinks i should be happy with 13meg as Sky have qouted me between 10-20meg from the start of the contract.

      Current Stats:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 28469 52499 0 262 601 5:28:57
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 5:30:00
      WLAN 59986 36322 0 661 290 5:29:33

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13307 kbps 958 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.0 db 6.8 db
      Noise Margin 14.6 db 8.0 db

    12. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: call centre nightmare regarding DLM

      Call back and tell them you have made improvements to your internal wiring and would like your line reconfigured for its best speed. I think the problem is that T1 can't see your stats and are just telling you what DLM has set your line to.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      bbeweel (26-04-11)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION