Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    New to sky base...

    This is a discussion on New to sky base... within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yeah...i read in other posts that its always best to ring late..so i called about 23:40....its worked in the past..but ...

    1. #21
      sparkz's Avatar
      sparkz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMOULT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Northampton
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky base...

      yeah...i read in other posts that its always best to ring late..so i called about 23:40....its worked in the past..but looks like today is my unlucky day


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky base...

      Try again and see if you get through to someone else.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #23
      sparkz's Avatar
      sparkz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMOULT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Northampton
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky base...

      do they not log that ive called already?...i was assuming if i called back they would see the notes from the previous support staff (especially as i was trying for esculation...so i asked for a ticket number (couldnt give one aparently, however gave me a refference number?) and ask why im calling before the 10 days are up?...

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky base...

      Just say you don't think they understood what you were explaining to them.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #25
      sparkz's Avatar
      sparkz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMOULT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Northampton
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky base...

      Progress!...


      Stats are now...

      Connection Speed 13322 kbps 944 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 13 db


      i was expecting a little more as my BE connection was closer to 15000kbps....

      do you guys think im still possibly in DLM?..is it likely to change again?


      cheers folks
      Last edited by sparkz; 17-01-10 at 01:05 AM.

    7. #26
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New to sky base...

      With that noise margin you won't get any more, maybe a little less, the default noise margin on Sky is 6.9db.

      Have you tried in the test socket?

    8. #27
      sparkz's Avatar
      sparkz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMOULT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Northampton
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky base...

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      With that noise margin you won't get any more, maybe a little less, the default noise margin on Sky is 6.9db.

      Have you tried in the test socket?
      i have a filtered master socket so no test socket im afraid..

      will leave well enough alone for a couple of weeks...and see what happens....its rather nice compared to the 2meg capped service tho!!

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION