Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Speed set lower following DLM

    This is a discussion on Speed set lower following DLM within the Sky & DLM forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just a quick question. DLM just completed on my line and set it to 3 mbps. Prior to that it ...

    1. #1
      trebell's Avatar
      trebell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Speed set lower following DLM

      Just a quick question.

      DLM just completed on my line and set it to 3 mbps.

      Prior to that it was happily running at 3.8 mbps.

      Is there any way to get it set back higher?

      It's not the end of the world as it's still a lot faster than the 1.6 meg max i got from bt (which kept dropping back to 512 kbps) but it would seem a shame if it could be a bit faster and i'm losing some potential speed.

      Is that 3 meg speed locked in or could it potentially go a little faster again?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      The whole point of DLM is to determine your most stable connnection, not necessarily the fastest.

      Please post your router stats?

    4. #3
      trebell's Avatar
      trebell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      That's fair enough, it did seem stable but obviously that's just my "feeling" for it and not scientific like the line testing.

      OK thanks ,will do when i get home.

      I was on 57db down attenuation and 7.2 db noise margin this morning.

      It's fair to say it's a good speed for this line anyway. I was just tantalised by the possibility of even higher speed but i'm not complaining as 3 is good.

    5. #4
      trebell's Avatar
      trebell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      I've decided to just leave it.

      It's 700k less than last weekend but, as said above, it might be because it's more stable at the lower speed.

      I noticed the noise margin is up 11 to and was 7 when it was 3.8 meg.

      I'm happy to have something still 6 times faster than bt gave me at weekend so think i'll leave it be.

      My current stats are

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3026 kbps 593 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 33.7 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 10.5 db

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      You could probably get a little more out of it but I think you are doing the right thing. With a long line like yours, stability is more important than squeezing the k out of it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      trebell's Avatar
      trebell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You could probably get a little more out of it but I think you are doing the right thing. With a long line like yours, stability is more important than squeezing the k out of it.
      Thank you. I really am very happy with it. 15 quid cheaper, stable and consistently 10 times quicker - it would be Churlish to complain.

      If DLM has found this speed to be optimal and I can finally use youtube and skyplayer with no lag then I cannot complain at all.

    8. #7
      trebell's Avatar
      trebell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redruth
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Speed set lower following DLM

      After an email, Sky have kindly put my speed up to 3.5 meg.

      Very happy with that.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION