Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36
    Like Tree6Likes

    New router - anything I should know?

    This is a discussion on New router - anything I should know? within the Sky On Demand forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Sorry if in wrong section - Scubbie feel free to repost - but I am buying the router below. Anything ...

    1. #1
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      New router - anything I should know?

      Sorry if in wrong section - Scubbie feel free to repost - but I am buying the router below.

      Anything I should know about plugging ethernet into On Demand feed for SKY HD box? Or should it be fairly simple ? (I have sky hub router at the moment, so its a direct replacement)

      http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00VDZBPKK


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      lol - Ok I was going to move it, but it looks like you're asking for something to connect to your Sky+ HD STB so that you can get On Demand.

      Basically if you are looking to connect that device to your router using WiFi, then I would expect that you should be able to connect your STB to it via the Ethernet port.

      Alternatively check out the Mini WiFi adaptor (provided that you have a DRX89x model): https://accessories.sky.com/catalogue/tv/all
      mcphailan. likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      Correct Scubbie I am asking for something to connect to my Sky+ HD STB so that I can continue to get On Demand.

      Sky hub Router works but I now have a security IP camera and sadly it needs to be IEEE802.11b/g/n to support the 1080p images. So using ethernet from sky hub for on demand and now changing router and "just" need to swap it over...err I hope. I was hoping not to have to use sky hub at all, possibe?

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      Apologies if I have misunderstood your question, but you seem to be asking "If I replace the sky hub with another router will the Ethernet cable to the Sky HD box plug straight in as it does now?"
      The answer to which would be yes.

      However the device you link to is not a suitable router it is an AP client.

      Can you explain what you are trying to achieve and which Sky hub you have (your profile says DG834GT) and are you on ADSL or fibre?

      Again, apologies if I have misunderstood.
      mcphailan. likes this.

    6. #5
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      OMG moleman!!! thanks so much.

      I am trying to install a security ip camera that works by wifi.

      It did not work and tech support says it because the sky router is, I quote them " IEEE802.11b , can not support 1080p; our ip camera is IEEE802.11b/g/n"

      So they offer me the above router which THEY describe as a router; they plan to send it soon. I just wanted to be sure my Sky On Demand would still work with this new "router".

      I mean on Amazon it does say "300Mbps Wireless 802.11b/g/n Router Support AP Client Router Repeater WPS WDS"....is it defo NOT a router?
      Last edited by mcphailan.; 12-08-15 at 02:57 PM.

    7. #6
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      Sky have never used an 11b only router, the DG834GT is 11g and the hubs SR101/102 are 11n. Which do you have?

      If you are unable to get the camera to work at all then I doubt it has anything to do with the wireless standard.

    8. #7
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      wondered if they talking ******

      I realy dont know, its the white one lol like this: New router - anything I should know?-3845d1350399525-everything-you-need-know-about-sky-hub-sr101-2012-06-29-13.11.44-cropped.jpg

    9. #8
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      That is an SR101 so is definitely 11/b/g/n. Are you on ADSL or fibre?

    10. #9
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      ADSL.

      They have just spun me a line dang ! They seemed so helpful had their engineer Teamviewer into my laptop to try to set up the dang thing.

      Maybe in 5/10 years, IP cameras will be plug n play, today they defeat an IT professional !

      Very annoyed, hope they will accept refund of 120 I paid....

    11. #10
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: New router - anything I should know?

      I have not set up an IP camera but it should be fairly easy nowadays.
      Perhaps someone with more experience of them can recommend something.
      The Sky hubs have reportedly got poor range so a better router may be needed if the camera is a a fair distance from the router.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION